PDA

View Full Version : tnt2


20th Mar 2000, 09:19 PM
ok, i'm having this little problem with a texture and i'm assuming it's my tnt2 because i don't have the problem in software rendering. here goes--i used the ut concrete texture and then i painted some yellow lines on it and imported it back into ued as a 256 color pcx and everything looks good, it all lines up in the editor. however, in the game itself, my texture is all blurry like the mipmaps got screwed up somewhere. i've got two pics here

1. in-game shot of the floor:
ftp://map:map@165.230.136.200/tex.jpg

2. same area in the editor:
ftp://map:map@165.230.136.200/tex2.jpg


guess you can't put an image from an ftp?

[This message has been edited by Lost (edited 03-20-2000).]

[This message has been edited by Lost (edited 03-20-2000).]

[This message has been edited by Lost (edited 03-20-2000).]

bastard_o
20th Mar 2000, 11:18 PM
Email me the pcx... mike.y@zetnet.co.uk

I will have a look for you... have you added a detail texture...

ie right click the image within the texture palette... properties... find the detail texture input... load the detail texture pack, select a nice detail texture, save your package again, rebuild save your lavel and run...

Bastard'O

21st Mar 2000, 12:37 AM
no i didn't add a detail tex yet, i'll send the pcx later tonight, thanks

Lost

bastard_o
21st Mar 2000, 06:34 PM
Just to end the thread I believe and hope I am correct with my analysis of this problem.

The image which lost had created was 1024x256 hummm rather large, unless you have special hardware the image will be dithered down by the engine to be 256x64, 256 being the maximum image size, with special hardware I believe the max image size to be 512x512.

So the reason for lost's image quality lost (no pune intended ha ha) was the engine dithering down the image internally for rendering onto the poly surface...

If I am incorrect... please let me know...

Bastard'O