PDA

View Full Version : GF3 needed to play U2 (apparently)...


SadaraK
29th May 2001, 08:33 PM
Just thought you may be interested in what I just read in a recent U2 preview....

"Legend's Mike Verdu wants to make one thing exceedingly clear: You will not need a GeForce 3 to play Unreal II. He's got reason to be frustrated. The stunning visuals of the game have sparked a flurry of press reports that in order to run the next installment in this action series, you'll need nVidia's top of the line card."

emm I realy o hope this doesnt end up being true or they will end up alienating a large portion on the gaming comunity.....:(

Gamma_Sword
29th May 2001, 08:39 PM
Hope that's not true!

I still use Voodoo 3 and I won't be getting another upgrade any time sooner. So it better support old cards like mine or I won't buy U2!

Pabu
29th May 2001, 08:47 PM
Did you not read the quote you yourself posted?

"Legend's Mike Verdu wants to make one thing exceedingly clear: You will not need a GeForce 3 to play Unreal II.

I think that answers the question.

SadaraK
29th May 2001, 08:51 PM
/me kicks himself in the /-\ss for his utter ignorance, erm Im tired ok :)

Pabu
29th May 2001, 08:53 PM
lol...been there, done that....no big deal. Just thought I would point it out.

hal
29th May 2001, 09:52 PM
Your U2 is stuck in my UT ;)

*shove*

Niamh
30th May 2001, 01:35 PM
Well, by the time the game actually comes out, with all delays and release dates accounted for, the GeForce 3 should be old news anyway.

~Angua~
31st May 2001, 09:54 PM
I would have thought the higher end Geforce 2's would be fine. I wouldnt hold your breath if you have a voodoo on the other hand. Voodoo's don't have the hardware T&L that the geforce cards have. No T&L = no future.

Zaphrod
1st Jun 2001, 10:27 PM
Any geforce card should be able to run U2 just fine. I saw somewhere where the game was currently running at pretty good framerates on a geforce DDR and I would say that will still be true when it is released.

U-N-R-E-A-l-2WillRock
5th Jun 2001, 01:14 PM
I HAVE A GEFORCE2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Kokensu
13th Jun 2001, 02:45 PM
Remember Unreal 2 will be D3D oriented so most cards today will run alot better on it than on UT(which is glide oriented). ;)

ravenus
14th Jun 2001, 09:49 AM
T&L capable card is an essential so nothing less than a first-gen GeForce will do. Voodoo owners will just have to bite the bullet since the game will probably not have any Glide support as well.

Jakeman
14th Jun 2001, 09:36 PM
1gig p3, gf3 here. no probs. :D

...and i'm a mac guy! come on guys! :p

Lyon
15th Jun 2001, 02:38 AM
hmmm i hope a GF2 GTS will do the job..

in a year i guess ill have to reupdate my hardware..and this PC already cost me 5.000 guilder :(

but..the game is worth it :)

ravenus
15th Jun 2001, 02:09 PM
Good for you Jakeman. I guess you're even ready for Doom3
Lyon I really don't think you gotta worry for U2. It should definitely look great on your system, though it'll have some goodies extra for the Gf3 guys.

Lyon
15th Jun 2001, 03:45 PM
but i wanna have the shiney extra's 2..

well, bakc to the good old 800x600 it is then :(

Slick_Willy
17th Jun 2001, 11:34 PM
You just have to have a card that has Hardware T&L

Coffe fan
21st Jun 2001, 01:17 AM
Why everyone is wondering about GF3? Isnīt Radeon 2 going to have that same top level graphics power?

Jakeman
21st Jun 2001, 02:19 AM
yes, the Radeon 2 will have equal memory bandwidth as the GF3. The Radeon 2 actually looks very promising.

Memory bandwidth set aside, ATI is great with those little efficiency tweaks like their hyper z technology and stuff. We'll have to wait to see how the R2 performs though.

Coffe fan
21st Jun 2001, 11:22 PM
What happened to manufactures of PowerVR and Savage chips? Recently Iīve seen a rumor about a new company called 3D Power who bought 3DFX and is workign on a GPU.

Jakeman
22nd Jun 2001, 02:10 AM
uhhh, nVidia bought 3DFx.

MaX Power
22nd Jun 2001, 01:28 PM
They didn't buy all the patents though.

bluefunk
23rd Jun 2001, 10:12 AM
A GF will be nothing spectacular. GF 4 or 5 will possibly be availble by then.

WildfireX2000
28th Jun 2001, 07:03 PM
To all who are crapping their pants over their so-called wondersystems:
i810(ever heard of one of those)/P3/600 mHz(Yes, mHz. 0.6 gigahertz for rich stupid people)
128 megabytes of ram(Megabytes. as in 1/1000 of a gigabyte)
11 gigabyte hard drive(They DO come in sizes less than 100, you know)
SoundBlaster Live! 1024V(This I can be proud of)
ASUSTeK GeForce DDR/32MB(Yes. GeForce DDR. As in "1")
And I get 50+ FPS in UT. HAHAHAH GeForce 2 MX'ers only get 30. And I play in 1024x768x32/32bpp with all detail maxed out and textures on max. HAHAHA!
So I think I'll be able to play Unreal 2...
For the record, its a modified UT engine, it WILL support Glide, only it'll either be slow or ugly.

ZombieKilla
28th Jun 2001, 10:05 PM
In one of the first threads created in the Unreal2 section of this forum, I discussed this very topic. A GeForce3 will not be necessary, but Epic did "highly recommend" a G3 or a GeForce2 with 64 MB of RAM. The high resolution textures eat up memory like twinkies, and I'm guessing that 512 MB system RAM will probably also be a good idea. It's unbelievable that with the insanely fast CPUs out today that RAM could stil be such a critical component to getting a good game experience.


http://www.geocities.com/tekken_god/images/lain.gif

Coffe fan
29th Jun 2001, 12:56 AM
U2 isnīt going to be a ultra expensive PC eater. UT can run with 32MB, not very smooth and not that playable to be a killer player but still runs. Considering many people who still have medium-end PCs at most, the requirements should be around:

64 to 96MB RAM minimum. 500Mhz is cheap and not that fast since CPUs will hit 2ghz soon. Any 3D graphic card with at least 16MB.

Recommended: At least 128MB RAM, 700mhz CPU and graphic cards with 32MB (T&L enabled).

grimstar
29th Jun 2001, 04:06 AM
This should clear things up-

To play Unreal II you will at least need a GeForce 256, but...

From Mike Verdu (Lead disigner) ->
We also may do a version of the game for lower end cards like the TNT2 or the Voodoo 3 or 4 series - we haven’t decided on how to support the first generation hardware cards.

Gubar
29th Jun 2001, 05:37 AM
And it will look like **** compared to the better, tnl supported version. Better forget it. I'll buy a gf card to play U2. This game deserves it.