Athlon, So what Mobo do I need?

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

B

Bee
Sep 6, 2000
Bussum, NL
www.zdclan.nl
Ok Im gonna buy me a new rig, I want to have a Athlon 1.2Ghz, but I have no experience with Athlons whatsoever. What is a good Mobo to go with the Athlon ( I really like it to be an Asus, which i also have now for my P2) and also what memory do I need? can I use my PC100 SDRAM? And all other tips on what to lookout for etc are more than welcome.
and what is a good Hdd? (+-30-40Gb)

tnx:)

CHRYSt

You can't help that. We're all mad here.
Jan 14, 2000
www.crawlspaceradio.com
Depends.

Do you want DDR or SDR?

If you want SDR, how much do you want to overclock?

SDR, I'd go with the MSI K7T-Pro2. It's incredibly stable, and pretty overclockable.
If you're a big overclocker, then buy the asus. I forget which one. It's not quite as solid ad the MSI, but it has more overclocking features.

DDR, get the Asus A7V.

CHRYSt

You can't help that. We're all mad here.
Jan 14, 2000
www.crawlspaceradio.com
DDR is actually only slightly more these days...we're talking a $10-15 difference.

But with SDR, get the MSI.

The asus you want is the A7V133.

I was wrong. The DDR one is the Asus A7A266

BunnYPandA

Evolutionary Masterpiece
Jan 22, 2001
j00 k4y
www.tournament.com