PDA

View Full Version : Question about Unreal 2 Engine


stiflersmom
14th Apr 2001, 02:42 AM
What will it be optimized for? Will it support 3dfx glide at all? because if it is an enhanced unreal tournament engine then it would make sense to optimize it for a voodoo card, like the previous 2 games have been.

but on the other hand, seeing as how 3dfxhas stopped making cards, it would make sense for the engine to be optimized for opengl or direct3d. So what is it?

hal
14th Apr 2001, 04:58 AM
The card that it is being optimized for is the GeForce3.

stiflersmom
14th Apr 2001, 06:32 AM
oh, that's good, because I have a geforce2 MX and Unreal Tournament runs horribly on it. Will the game run fine on a geforce2? or is the 600$ upgrade necessary?

hal
14th Apr 2001, 08:09 AM
That's funny, I just bought an ELSA GF2 MX card and it is a noticable improvement (visually) from my Voodoo2 cards that I had.

CityIntro.unr timedemo

highdetail world
highdetail actors
1024x768

min. 27.84
max. 76.43
avg. 39.49

and that's on an "old" P2 400 w/128MB RAM.

Deathwing
14th Apr 2001, 12:33 PM
Unreal 2 will run fine on a Geforce2. You just won't get the same detail levels as on a GF3 though.

gen. gomer-pyle
14th Apr 2001, 06:43 PM
will it work ok on voodoo 4

Zaccix
14th Apr 2001, 07:25 PM
U2 will shift the Unreal Engine to OpenGL. It probably won't work that well on a Voodoo card, simply because 3dfx shot themselves in the foot and never did code a proper OpenGL driver.

For anyone (like myself) who has a Voodoo card, it'd probably be better to upgrade to a better card such as either a Radeon or GeForce, as some other companies actually know how to code OpenGL drivers.

Slick_Willy
16th Apr 2001, 07:26 AM
By the time the game comes out you will probably be able to get a GeForce2 GTS or Ultra at a good price and if anything you can pick up the MX 64MB for $150 right now which is just as fast as a Voodoo5 5500.

I switched to a GeForce Card when 3dfx went out the door and I noticed UT doesn't look as good as on the 3dfx but even even Epic admits that but the new engine looks fine with Direct3d. If you are having performance problems with UT and Geforce then try some of the Beta drivers listed at http://www.the-ctrl-alt-del.com/Drivers.htm I found that anything above 10.80 got rid of mouse lag and other similiar performance problems with the GeForce Cards.

I always loved 3dfx and it is too bad they couldn't keep up. They just couldn't seem to put out a chip with decent speed for some reason. Here are some rough numbers of why I feel that Geforce after switching is better:

Voodoo 5 GPU - 375 MegaTexels/s X1, X2, X4(never released 6000 Card)

GeForce2 MX - 700 MegaTexels/s
GeForce2 GTS Pro - 1.6 GigaTexels/s
GeForce2 Ultra - 2.0GigaTexels/s
GeForce3 - ?? Don't know but has been documented to be 4 times faster than the Ultra.

stiflersmom
16th Apr 2001, 08:21 AM
first of all, are you the slick_willy that made the map The Crossing? if so, great job!
ok, my card is an innovision tornado geforce2 mx with a pci slot...
is it safe for me to download the nvidia drivers?
because, I would REALLY like to get rid of that lag...

hal
16th Apr 2001, 08:46 AM
NVidia reference drivers will work for any GeForce 2, MX, GTS, Ultra card. You will probably lose any of innovision's proprietary software (like tweak utilities and stuff).

Slick_Willy
16th Apr 2001, 09:28 AM
I've used the Nvidia Drivers and Elsa Drivers on my Hercules Card with no problems. But indeed if you have any specific settings for your card that the manufacture has put in there then they won't be there. The best thing is to just install the new driver and see if you like it. If not just go back to the old one.

And yes I made TheCrossing. Thanks for your comment. I'm thinking of doing another similiar CTF-Map that will take place on Na Pali with two Nali Villages pitted against each other.

ASMDstick
17th Apr 2001, 02:01 PM
I never got it here. Will U2 run on V5 at all?
Atleast on low-medium detail? If it will, wise will be get V5, they r cheap. Get though U2 untill UT2 or UWarfare or whatever comes in, then get a G3 they will be cheapish by then. I think 'coz U2 mostly SP game, i'll still be playing UT ..

stiflersmom
18th Apr 2001, 03:11 AM
really? voodoo5s are cheap? then I'm definately gonig to pick me up one of those! All those glide-optimized games.... drool

NeoNite
18th Apr 2001, 12:34 PM
ehm i don't wanna sound like a retard :)
but i've tried installing the detonator drivers, the 6.50, the 7.12 or something like that for the geforce2 mx, every time the same crap: mouse cursor was acting weird on my screen, image kept repeating itself.
And my system asked me to restart, but i did.
(this message showed up in my start menu-settings-screen (sorry i forgot how to exaclty put it in english)
I couldn't access my advanced options for the geforce2, windows gave me an error. Every time.
HAs this something to do with still using directx 7.0a?
Or ...?

The drivers that came with the card, 5.30 work fine afcourse. The detonator drivers should work. I have an exe from a cd-rom i got that came with a magazine.
But .. :I can someone help me here?
Oh and if something goes wrong while installing directx-8.0, where can i find the uninstaller?

Darth_Mule
19th Apr 2001, 02:01 PM
Install direct X 8.0 and the *newest detonator drivers, 10.1 or 11.1 I think
Don't bother with the Geforce 3 for a long time, theres no point...I get 100fps with a Geforce 1 and PIII 667 (average at least 50fps)you just have to know how to set your system up properly and configure advanced options in UT...you don't *always need the next generation VID card...I'm going to wait for the G3 to come out and buy a G2 when there dirt cheap...don't be a sucker for Nvidia's marketing crap...

NeoNite
19th Apr 2001, 03:58 PM
at what res do you get 100 fps? no, i'm just curious. I have a pIII 800, so when installing dx8 and the det drivers, i also should get these excellent framerates right?
640x800?
800x600?
1024x768?? :)
world detail to medium? skin detail to medium? 32 bit?
and yes afcourse, a geforce 1 is still a decent card.
And indeed, why purchase a gf3 now, when it's unbelievably expensive?
gf2 cards aren't that expensive anymore compared to last year, you know..

Darth_Mule
20th Apr 2001, 08:16 AM
Sorry, forgot the rest...I play at 1024-768 16 bit color...There is a big difference between 16 bit and 32 bit, but 16 bit with detail textures on looks good anyway...I only get big slow-downs when in 32 bit color...

Darth_Mule
20th Apr 2001, 08:17 AM
Oh yes, and world detail and skin detail to high...

stiflersmom
21st Apr 2001, 02:01 AM
but do you have detail textures on? those things look fantastic, but eat up a lot of frames when you get close to a wall...

Rage-6MM
23rd Apr 2001, 10:00 AM
i have a voodoo 3 3000D agp...... will it run ok on that or do you recommend i get a ge-force 2 GTS???
i have been with the unreal movement for awhile now and i'd hate to not be able to play unreal 2.

dinwitty
24th Apr 2001, 10:06 PM
heres the deal on getting things to work right.
latest BIOS for your motherboard. (Flash it in from a floppy)
get the latest motherboard system drivers. (VIA or otherwise)
my GF2MX CD drivers are working fine (creative Anhilator2)
CHeck your OS, win98, or whatever, and grab the latest updates from the microsoft site.
You can use the latest detonators if you want.
of course use patch 436 for UT
you may want to install DX8 (NOT 8.1 or 8.1a, may still be betas)
This should get your perfomance cookin ;)

Rage-6MM
26th Apr 2001, 08:20 AM
my voodoo card just broke and i didn't have much money so i bought a tnt2 m64 32meg card.
ya think that will run Unreal 2 ok???????
i hope so..........

hal
26th Apr 2001, 05:03 PM
..shoulda bought a GeForce 2MX or GF2 GTS.