M4 A1 question

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

KpViper

SniperBoy
Mar 5, 2001
users.pandora.be
I don't think its a sound suppressor, maybe a barrel extender or some sort, he but I'm no weapons expert !!!, there is a flashlight to ;)

Liquid Night

Argumentative type.
May 18, 2000
Dublin
Deadly, not silent. I would imagine the the team will not bother including subsonic ammo in 5.56mm. (Not a very effective load, if it even exists.)
The purpose of the suppressor is to eliminate the noise from the expanding gases resulting from the combustion of the powder charge.
The sonic boom from the bullet will remain.
It is much harder to determine which direction the shot was fired from however.
Also, the suppressor will eliminate muzzle flash (I think most do anyway).

DeadeyeDan[ToA]

de oppresso liber
Mar 2, 2000
Tucson, AZ, US
www.clantoa.com
Exactly, Liquid. Hopefully the INF team will be able to pull off the sonic "crack" noise, so that they can implement supersonic suppressed rounds realistically (and take out UT's limitation on sound range, to make them useful).

Also, the (first?) M4 in INF will be the M4A2, which is essentially an M4A1, but with a non-removable (and more stable) carry handle rear sight.

Col.Sanders

Oct 12, 2000
Sorry to burst your bubble guys, but I have personally witnessed a demonstration of sub sonic versus supersonic ammo in a suppressed weapon.