PDA

View Full Version : Uneral2 Minimum Requirements


the~oreca
1st Feb 2001, 09:11 AM
Does anyone have an idea on what will they be?

I think it should be around Pentium Celeron 500, 64MB Ram, 12MB Video card.

Anyone else has an idea?
I'm not sure but they where not put final min. req. untill the engine is finish?

:)
2nd Feb 2001, 05:15 AM
i remember seeing that the high end systems of about a 2 months ago would be the mid range systems for u2

but most likely you will be able to play it on a 500mhz system just dont expect to get more fps then a p 266 gets in ut :)

ravenus
2nd Feb 2001, 01:11 PM
Don't bet on these specs.

According to Tim Sweeney a couple of moonths back at VE, A high end gig of the time (say PIII 800, 128MB, GeForce DDR) would just about play U2 reasonably with a lot of the features turned down.

Matthias Worch
2nd Feb 2001, 01:46 PM
I doubt Tim (or anybody else) ever said anything specific about U2's system specs. But do you think the whole Legend office is equiped with highend 1.2Ghz systems? ;) I'm building something in Max right now on my other machine, and that's a P2/450 :)
Anyway, I doubt there will be any official word on U2's system specs for a while - what we ARE allowed to say can all be found on my webpage @ http://www.langsuyar.com

{HWP}Tweeker
2nd Feb 2001, 02:22 PM
I heard the sys specs wil be pretty high....

ATR-SUNRISE
2nd Feb 2001, 05:19 PM
I was reading an article on gamespy and thier was a quote from one of the epic members. They said that a PII300 with 128 ram and a voodoo3 300 would run unreal 2 in the equivalent of software mode for UT.
So there are you MINIMUM specs. I would think a pIII500-650 would be the average system.
the high end would probably be 800 and up.
I am also guessing you would brobably want 256RAM to play this game properly.
Either way I don't care because next spring I am buying a new rig :D

the~oreca
2nd Feb 2001, 05:50 PM
Wow! I didn't think it would be so high!
I bearly make a low-end for UT, now i'm gonna need to upgrade bearly.
Most of you probably never heard of my whining so you don't know that i have a cheap computer, I have a P Celeron 366 32MB Ram and a 4mb ATI Rage Pro :(

I am planning on buying a GeForce 2 MX but i guess i'm gonna be buying more stuff (I am planning on buying ram at the same time as the GF2MX)

Enough said.

the~oreca
2nd Feb 2001, 05:51 PM
Oh yeah, for everyone new here, because I have seen lots of new people lately, Welcome to PuF - PlanetUnreal Forums.

the~oreca
2nd Feb 2001, 06:58 PM
Crap I was just looking at my vB home thing and I noticed I spelt "Unreal" Uneral, and that sorta sounds like the thing you take a piss in :D

Uncle Leo
3rd Feb 2001, 01:19 AM
Thanks Mathias. 450Mhz, GeForce 1.... unofficially, unreliably, subject to change.

They'd be killing themselves to set the specs too high.
From what I've seen, most PCs nowdays still dont have a 3D card, and if they do, it's a low level ATI Rage or a TNT2.
I can't see that changing much in the future. Most folks dont understand the hardware. They want a "3D card" but dont want to spend hundreds of dollars on it.... they just take the cheapest option.

Life will be simpler when CPUs are going so fast, and have such killer built-in instructions, that 3D cards are no longer needed.

Vortex
3rd Feb 2001, 09:45 AM
Ouch. Looks like my modest little box is going to need some augmentation ;). Anyone want to lend me some money?

Iboc-C64
4th Feb 2001, 10:54 AM
Uncle Leo... I thought I heard that the minimum was going to be:
500 mhz Processor
GPU, GeForce (Maybe Raedon)
128 megs of SDram
--- Now some speculation ---
2 gigs of HD space
Windows Sound Card 16 channel minimum
at least 4X cd-rom

--- Speculated Recommended System ---
1000 mhz processor
GeForce 2 GTS or higher
192 megs of SDram
3 gigs for full install
EAX or Aureal sound card
High Speed CDrom

ATR-SUNRISE
4th Feb 2001, 04:07 PM
I belive all the above is correct except for the 3 gig full install and the 1000 megahertz recommended. ( It doesn't matter how good they want the game to be you can't expect 3/4 of the gaming community to upgrade) That is why I think the recommended will be a 700 or slightly higher Pentium (not athlon) processor

Uncle Leo
4th Feb 2001, 06:01 PM
All I was going on there was that Mathias said that some of the tech demo stuff ran on a 450Mhz CPU at his home.
Nothing official about it, may even be quite wrong in the end.
The point being that, for in a year's time, the specs will be mild & reasonable.

the~oreca
4th Feb 2001, 06:39 PM
I hope the prices go down badly.
With a job like mine it takes me a month to get a case...

LordKhaine
5th Feb 2001, 04:49 AM
I have a P3 500 with 128 ram and Ive just ordered a GF2 GTS, so I will hopefully be able to run U2 ok.

Hellscrag
5th Feb 2001, 07:55 AM
I have a P3-800 with a GeForce2 GTS which runs UT well and Q3 sw33t (not that I like it :p), so it had better be good enuff for U2!

O ya & I have 256Mb RAM :)

Savay
5th Feb 2001, 03:33 PM
Originally posted by Iboc-C64
2/3 gigs of HD space

Oh, come on!!!! How would Legend manage that??
I don`t think they can expect everyone to have a DVD-ROM and I don`t think UII will ship with 3(+) CDs!

IF they provide DVD they should tell us NOW(!), because i won`t be able to collect money for a DVD-ROM, a 1+ GHz CPU + MB, 256 MB DDR-Ram, 30 Gig HDD and maybe a GeForce III within half a year!!!!

Grimlock|PuF
14th Feb 2001, 03:58 PM
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by Iboc-C64
2/3 gigs of HD space
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Oh, come on!!!! How would Legend manage that??


I think thats about the size of my Windows folder:D Anyway, I think that by the time the game does emerge, that most of us will have new systems, or at least upgraded. You have to remember that if this game will be setting a benchmark, then games that follow it will be at least as intensive, if not more so...The winds of change are a-blowin'...

Grimlock|PuF
14th Feb 2001, 03:59 PM
Crap I was just looking at my vB home thing and I noticed I spelt "Unreal" Uneral, and that sorta sounds like the thing you take a piss in

sorry, just noticed this...lol :D

disturbed
14th Feb 2001, 06:18 PM
You will want at least a GeForce 2 GTS and probably 192 megs of PC133 memory. A 650Mhz processor should handle the game fairly well.

ATR-SUNRISE
15th Feb 2001, 04:37 PM
I think that is probably the most accurate description

hal
16th Feb 2001, 06:43 PM
Originally posted by Iboc-C64
3 gigs for full install

Jeeeeebus! That's 4.615 cd's of content. I'm guessing that it'll be a little lower. ;)

Warm Pudgy
18th Feb 2001, 02:51 AM
Originally posted by hal


Jeeeeebus! That's 4.615 cd's of content. I'm guessing that it'll be a little lower. ;)

actually that will all fit on one cd... ever see the file size of a dvd? one of my dvds is almost 4.5gigs

ravenus
18th Feb 2001, 04:44 AM
A single CD fits 650MB max, man. DVD's are a totally different ball game.
Seriously I don't think U2 will ship with that much content. 2 CD affair is what I think will make it to the stores.

Morety
19th Feb 2001, 01:11 PM
My specs:
P3-800eb
256 megs of pc133 sdram
gf2-ultra
sblive platinum w/ dtt2500 digital speakers

I would personally love this game to push the limits, with extensive use of compressed textures, t&l, environmental audio etc when it comes to the HIGH END capabilities.

It should also make sure it's playable and looks good at the low end so that people could buy this game en masse.

Keeping it around a 450-500 proc necessity and looking decent, but stretching the limits for the high end users would, in my mind, be the best.

hal
19th Feb 2001, 09:43 PM
Originally posted by (BMS)AI


actually that will all fit on one cd... ever see the file size of a dvd? one of my dvds is almost 4.5gigs


ravenus also replied. But I had to also point out that cd's and dvd's are not the same. So, my reply remains the same.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by hal


Jeeeeebus! That's 4.615 cd's of content. I'm guessing that it'll be a little lower.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Warm Pudgy
21st Feb 2001, 05:31 PM
ok ok dvds are written in a different way than normal cds the diff is that the pits in dvds are shorter and skinnier sort of commpressed and regular cds they are longer and fatter but you can still put other things on it also whether it be games music or movies

but there will be a new type of disk writting system
that uses a blue laser writing method which make it possible to write a very large ammount of memory on to a cd about 10 times more than any dvd
another type of disk writing that isnt out yet is some kind of photosensitive writing intended for hd purposes that is expected to hold enough for an entire movie rental place like block buster and there is another storage unit thingy that can hold up to 100gigs of uncompressed data on one little mini digital cassette or those little tapes that you use in your camcorder

if ive made any mistakes, like i always do. please feal free to correct me

LordKhaine
23rd Feb 2001, 05:56 AM
I just hope U2 is more vid card based than cpu based. Its stupid how badly I run UT on my machine, dispite my great vid card.

hal
24th Feb 2001, 09:40 AM
Well, at lower resolutions, UT is more processor intensive. At higher resolutions you see that load get shifter more to the card. Of course, you have to have the power to run at higher resolutions. That old P2 200 isn't gonna cut it, LK! :D

Keith8_8000
24th Feb 2001, 10:14 PM
Oh boy I'll definetly need a new comp if the min requirements are that high. Mine is

PII 233mhz
4GB hard drive Drive C: 300MB free Drive D: 400MB free
56X CD-ROM
64MB RAM
Voodoo 3 TV 3500 16MB

My family is thinking of this Christmas to get a new comp and have that the only present for the whole family. :D

LordKhaine
27th Feb 2001, 05:41 AM
Well I have 256 ram and better soundcard now, guess a cpu upgrade is next :D

quitgrin1
27th Feb 2001, 10:40 AM
Damn it!... I think my PC will fuucken suck with U2..., I mean, according to all your guys projections for the minimum requirements, I`ll have to by the latest gaming rig from alienware to make it play... UT is average and DEus EX sucks with my 400mhz celeron with 96 megs SDRAm and a crappy 8 megs video card. THIS SUCKS... Well, my dad at least said that he`ll buy a new computer (a 900 + MHZ aTHLON OR pENTIUM 3 with a radeon or a Geoforce 2) next year. Thank God (well, not quite) that Legend is releasing the game in 2002.... =(...... at least i`ll be able to play it.

My projections for minimum requirements:
400 mhz Pentium 2
128 megs Sdram
800 megs Hard Drive (or lower) I think it will be like Deus Ex ; around 700 megs)
Direct 3D card (min a TNT or TNT2)

GRINGOLOCO

Probotector
6th Mar 2001, 01:08 PM
I think these speculations are getting out of hand here.
I read some post that say 2/3 gb of hd space?
I don't think so!
As some newer post say it is more resonable to think in the lines of 1gb or less, my current Ut folder take about 900mb with tactical ops installed and all the bonus packs. As i see it we low-end system users should better think about getting ourselves new systems. Here's mine:

P2 300MHz :(
128 Sdram :|
3.7 GB HD :(
Voodoo3 3000 PCI :(

I get say with 11 bots and a farily complex level, about 15fps in combat and 20 at best! I would buy a Geforce2 but my computer has no agp port since the built in Ati-4mb-suxors-like-nothing-else graphics card stole that feature.. :(

[OF]AbsolUT
8th Mar 2001, 05:01 AM
I hope Unreal 2 will run on todays systems. I own a celeron 500, but I think Unreal 2 should suggest a Pentium 3 with 128 megs of ram and a Voodoo 5 or equvilent type video card. I know the new Geforce is going to kick ass, but damn, it's as expensive as a new celeron pc these days. I know the game is probably still over a year until completion but the people making the game need to know how we feel.

Tichinde
9th Mar 2001, 06:06 AM
you can get cd's which will hold 700Mb of data

the~oreca
9th Mar 2001, 08:23 AM
Originally posted by Probotector
P2 300MHz :(
128 Sdram :|
3.7 GB HD :(
Voodoo3 3000 PCI :(

I get say with 11 bots and a farily complex level, about 15fps in combat and 20 at best! I would buy a Geforce2 but my computer has no agp port since the built in Ati-4mb-suxors-like-nothing-else graphics card stole that feature.. :(

A few days ago I got a Voodoo 3000 PCI and damn UT isn't as good as I though it would of looked! I got on Deck16][ with 4 bots medium details and low sound on 640*480 an avg of 23fps.

I have about the same thing as you...
Celeron 366
32MB ram PC-100
4.3GB Hard Drive
Voodoo3 3000 PCI 16MB
ATI Rage Pro 4MB

Originally posted by Tichinde
you can get cd's which will hold 700Mb of data


I've heard of DDCD - Double Density Compact Disk - on a Popular Mechanics book yesterday when I was at the dentist, Sony say's a DDCD will need a special burner and a special reader, but those will still be able to read the normal CD, Sony says the prices will de similar to what we pay now for a burner or a reader because it uses the same technology, also these DDCD will be able to handle 1.3g which is almost twice as much of we a D can take.

Probotector
9th Mar 2001, 10:37 AM
I know what you mean when you said you got dissapointed with the v3. I upgraded from a v1, which i could run in about 640x480, medium textures & skins and got about the same fps as now with me v3. The only differance is that now i can run in any resolution and it won't cut fps. If i say run UT with high textures & skins in 640x480 and 1024x768 there is no differance in fps! This is both good & bad, cause if it made a differance in fps then i could just lower my resolution and get more fps in exchange, but now i can't. then again i can play in 1024 with no differance in speed...

The reason for this is because the cpu is to slow. If i had a faster cpu i would most certainly get more fps.
I think i read this in 3DMark 2000 somewere...

I think it would be similar to you, if you got more ram.
I noticed before when i only had 64mb and then upgraded to 128 that i got a significant speed boost. Almost as big as when i upgraded from a v1 a v3, which was before i got more ram.

So my tip is buy another 64mb ram.

(v1 = voodoo1, v3 = voodoo3)

WildfireX
11th Mar 2001, 12:34 PM
So what if Johnny Whiner still has a Pentium II?!?!! My computer is pretty $hitty:
P3/600
128 MBs RAM
8x DVD ROM
ASUS GeForce DDR at 32 MB
9 GB hard drive
And if I have to upgrade for U2 then I will. If they try to optimize it for cr@ppy computers we will get Descent 3 all over again, I mean dammit they tried their best to make it run on sucky computers, and it ran on my old Pentium 133/32MB/2MB video card. Slowly. D3 was delayed because of continued optimization so it would still make you jaw drop when it came out next month but it would still run on a 486 (they gave up on the 486). Actually, most of D3's dev time was taken up by the User-Friendly Level Editor of Death, it took almost a year to make from what I heard. So, make Unreal require a Pentium 5 with 65535 gigahertz and a terabyte of RAM. Make it need 50000 gigabytes of install space. But make it make my jaw drop. in 2002, who knows what kind of computers will be availible?