PDA

View Full Version : Help for 56k6 online players,


Cryton
11th Dec 1999, 03:04 AM
ok guys,

Online play was really sucking for me... I started to fiddle with my modem settings and found one particular setting that helped me no end...

My modem now doesn't drop carrier as often as it used to, and the pings I get are better and dont spike as often

I am making no guarantees that this will work for you. It worked for me, but before when I asked about these problems I had on this BB, no one answered, so I assume no one else had the problems I did..

anyway, on with the settings


Go Start, Programs, accesories, communications and click Dial Up Network

Click RMB on the connection you use for online UT, and choose Properties

Click Configure, Connection/advanced/

and here's the magic:

o Tick Use error control
o Untick Required to Connect
o Untick Compress Data

and UNTICK USE FLOW CONTROL

THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT

this sorted so much netplay problems for me... now the modem will not wait until it is ready to receive or send, it will just do it whatever... if you have your modem send and receive buffers as big as they can get then you should have no problems at all... the modem will send its data out 'blindly'
(Buffer sizes is in Connection/Port settings)

Plse let me know if this sorted out any of your problems, as I played for 5 hrs last night online and only got the disconnect icon a few times, which WAS AWESOME!

Also note that because you are sending and receiving packets blindly (ie without flow control) that your UT 'netspeed' command has a much bigger impact on how the game plays online

WHilst playing, type STAT NET on the console and see your netspeed and packet losss... I was playing a Belguim server last night from the UK... I set NETSPEED 2500 and had an awesome 5 hrs online with this setting...

putting NETSPEED to max is not always the best way to get a good connection... if you have problems try turning the netpseed down... I find putting it down it steps of 500 is usually best.

anyway, good luck with this if you try it and have a 56k6... and let me know how what it did for you (better/worse)

------------------

cRYTON^aPC

Blobbo
11th Dec 1999, 10:03 PM
Hi there,

I just thought I'd thank you for your modem setup tip; Netplay is now fantastic for me, ping is stable, minimal packetloss... I can actually aim rockets properly now. /~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif

I'm playing from the UK as well, so hopefully I'll see you around.

Thanks again.

-Blobbo

HuFlungDung
11th Dec 1999, 11:51 PM
I'm always eager to try new things but my situation is not exactly the same thing, since my line only allows me to connect at 26.4K. Anyway, I tried the suggested settings and thought I saw a slight decrease in performance online. But no harm done. It's a good thing to do this experimenting!

Blobbo
12th Dec 1999, 04:08 AM
HuFlungDung - Have you optimised your MTU/TTL? If not, I have a few tips on that. /~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif

Cryton
12th Dec 1999, 08:57 AM
huflung

if you're using 26k4 connect then set your packet size to something very small like NETSPEED 1000 or NETSPEED 1500 or maybe NETSPEED 2000

HuFlungDung
12th Dec 1999, 08:13 PM
Yes, I have thoroughly tweaked windows and my modem settings from that inreach website.
http://home.inreach.com/echevarr/pingpage.htm

I feel that my connection is doing as well as is possible, I'm not complaining at all. Let me ask you Cryton, when you changed those modem settings, did you do it in the dial up networking AND in device manager/modem/properties? Somehow, those two areas do not share the same settings, you need to change them manually.

[This message has been edited by HuFlungDung (edited 12-12-1999).]

Cryton
13th Dec 1999, 02:25 PM
no i did not change them in the device manager... i believe that that stores the standard settings to be used if a connection does not have any default values... I changed the settings specifically for my Freeserve account...

It's change *my* online play for the better.. most tweak guides say to keep Flow Control on, but in my opinion that is a lot of crap... it introduces lag (as your modem sets out the command to the server that it is Clear To Send) which, if you have big buffers, you dont need...

KINGADROCK
16th Dec 1999, 10:41 PM
Is this for unreal or unreal tournament?

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
THE KING ADROCK

Cryton
17th Dec 1999, 11:44 AM
I use this for UT, but this is the only game that I play online.

There is no reason why it will not work on other games...

It basically gets rid of the delay between your modem saying "I am clear to send" to the server, and the server saying "I am ready to send"

If your buffers are at max, then this should improve online gaming for any internet game.

You will notice that when you loose packets, instead of 'bouncing' around from location to location, you will just return to the last location you were at when you had no packet loss.... atleast for UT you will...

but it greatly improved MY UT Online gaming experience...

if you turn it off and it doesn't work for you, then it is very easy to put it back to what it was (Tick flow control and tick RTS/CTS)

Cryton/Steve