PDA

View Full Version : UT Full & GeForce = Strange problem!???!


Bruno
16th Dec 1999, 07:36 AM
Hi There,

I have found some strange problems while playing UT Full version (I
can't recreate the problem on the demo). After playing for like half an
hour the framerate drops to 4-5 FPS and the sound is garbled, this goes
on for 20-30 seconds and then everything is fine. The problem reemerges
after a while and disapers again. I happends on a lot of maps (small and
big ones) a graphics settings does not seem to make a difference. If I
press ESC, pausing the game, mousemovement in the UT GUI can be found to
be affected as well.

Has anyone experienced similar problems?
Any suggestions on how to fix this problem?

By the way. I Wonder how the AGP Apature size should be set in the BIOS?

Regards

Bruno aka. Cool(DK)

My specs are:

UT Full install v 402
Abit B?6 Motherboard (?=X or H, I can't remember)
Celeron 300A @ 463.5 Mhz (AGP at 2/3)
128 Mb (PC-100), 1 part memory
ASUS V6600 Deluxe (Geforce with 5 ns ram) and the most recent ASUS
driver.
SoundBlaseter PCI-128
300 Mb free harddisk space




------------------
Bruno aka. Cool(DK)

Tanqueray_boy
16th Dec 1999, 02:16 PM
It sounds like you are running out of memory; there is a known memory leak in UT. What are your virtual memory settings? I would allow Windows to control VM and point it to a drive with lots of disk space.

deleteroom
16th Dec 1999, 05:52 PM
I have the annihilator as well, and I experience the same slowdowns as well, and the mouse in GUI is affected as well.
I've noticed heavy HDD action as well, so it seems to be a memproblem. Don't go out there and buy another 128MB (I did that), coz it will not solve the prob (I have 256MBram in my P2 450) and dont blame the geforce coz it happens in Voodoo2sli also(althou UT runs better on 3DFX nevertheless)
I think its the 402 that screwed something really good.

deleteroom
16th Dec 1999, 05:57 PM
as well, as well... now thats style. Good job deleteroom

Bruno
16th Dec 1999, 06:24 PM
Thank you all. It's nice to know that its not my configuration thats wrong. Hopefully a new patch will solve the problem soon.

Does epic have an list of known problems that can be found somewhere?

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
Bruno aka. Cool(DK)