PDA

View Full Version : "Precaching" lock up


Lawnboy723
29th Nov 1999, 12:35 AM
I have a PIII 500 on an Asus P3B-F motherboard with 128mb ram and a 770 ultra. About every other time the intro movie locks up. Other than that it USUALLY locks whie precaching the fist game I attempt to join. If I get past that the game NEVER gets past 2 levels. The 3rd on will always lock. Anyone out there with the same tyes of problem or have a workaround? I have DX7 and nVidia's 3.53 detonator drivers installed, and running win98. Any elp in this extremely frustrating bug would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Brian

EASY_Target
30th Nov 1999, 08:57 AM
I use TNT2 cougar w/32mb ,I disabled the pre-caching option in "adv options"..it didn't seem to effect performance that I could measure..that might help you prevent lockups.

Voyd
30th Nov 1999, 04:25 PM
try to go back to 2.08 drivers they seem to be alot more stable and theres like no performance diffrence.

Guysmily
2nd Dec 1999, 02:42 PM
Where is the option to turn off the pre-cache
in advanced options.

ghostgeek
2nd Dec 1999, 09:19 PM
Turning off precaching doesnt help.Its the detonators or dx7...i had the same problem and was troubleshooting WITH Cliff Blezinski of Epic via email tag.
He suggested turn off precaching.It worked for one match then locked at the movie.
I have the P3B-F too with a P3450(sl35d)@540mhz.
I bought a voodoo 3 3000 for this game glide runs awesome.But i kept my Creative TNT2 Ultra anyway...when Epic releases a patch,or DX 7 is updated or Nvidia releases new drivers i might try running the TNT2 again.
In any case the voodoo3 is faster in 800x600 or lower 55.21 fps in the timedemo option.

<sigh>

ghostgeek
2nd Dec 1999, 09:53 PM
BTW..according to Epic,the 3.53 detonators had a page locking problem in the demo...so maybe newer detonators will help when they release them.i think the new ones coming are 3.62.

SolidCordon
4th Dec 1999, 09:07 PM
My system (AMD K6-2, 450MHz, Viper770, 64M RAM, win98, Directx7) doesn't lock up in pre cacheing but it spends a lot of time doing it. Software mode is unplayable and Direct3d performance degrades as I play for longer periods.
I'm running the latest TNT drivers, where could I find the 2.08 driver?

(I have a pentium 200MHz with 64M ram, Matrox g220, 3dfx card, win95 and it runs UT smoother and without the precaching delays I'm getting on my 'game' system. Grrrr)