PDA

View Full Version : Anyone got a Coppermine P3 yet?


Voyd
29th Nov 1999, 09:02 PM
coppermine will be my next cpu upgrade. just wanna know if some folks already have one and what they think of it for gaming and in general.

Guinness
1st Dec 1999, 05:18 AM
Why spend EXTRA $$$ for slower perf?

Voyd
1st Dec 1999, 09:23 AM
uh...what are you talking about?

[This message has been edited by Voyd (edited 12-01-1999).]

HuFlungDung
1st Dec 1999, 04:55 PM
AMD Athlon R00lz. Gotta get one! (I saw what you wrote elsewhere) /~unreal/ubb/html/wink.gif.

Cryton
2nd Dec 1999, 04:56 PM
lol... read today that they have f**ked some of their coppermines up... you have to switch them on twice to get the CPU to boot up.. lol Intel are right f**king monkeys...

Ding
2nd Dec 1999, 06:18 PM
Not only did Intel **** CuMine up, they delayed the shipments of the good chips until Jan-Feb.

Go with Athlon, like I did.

Voyd
3rd Dec 1999, 07:28 AM
buy AMD and have nothing but headaches trying to find a suitable board for it, and having people support the stupid 3d now they have? i read the problems people on this forum had when gaming with an amd. its pathetic. on something as expensive as a processor im gonna go with the rock solid relaiblity of Intel. nobody can deny AMD is not doing well these days, and everyone welcomes the market competition. but i think ill invest my money in something i wont have problems with.

Ding
3rd Dec 1999, 05:02 PM
AMD has issues? Remember RAMBUSt? How about the i820? Or maybe that new CuMine glitch? Intel is determined to infuriate the OEMs.

Stupid 3D? I'm getting around 60 FPS in empty levels in 1280x1024, everything set to highest and 3d audio on. In firefights, the FPS never drops below 40. My system hasn't crashed in days (I don't even remember the last crash) and it's MOTHER****ING FAST!

HuFlungDung
3rd Dec 1999, 11:52 PM
Hey, Voyd, the AMD athlon 550 is a good processor to choose: it's not overpriced, and mine has been working great. I'm not sure what m/b to recommend, having only tried the FIC SD-11. Once I had gotten everything set up right with Windows98SE (it took a few tries), the system has been stable. There may be better m/b's out there with more custom configuration options than the SD-11 gives you.