PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on your development as a player

DividedSky
11th Sep 2000, 12:10 PM
Recently I've gotten frustrated with UT. For a loooong time, every since I started playing, in fact, I was consistently improving. I'd take on a new skill, incorporate it into my repertoire, and become a better player. Recently, though, I've hit a big plateau. I'm not getting better anymore. It's a bit unsettling because I always want to improve. I've been playing since January and I'm starting to wonder if I've peaked. It's also frustrating because I'm miles and miles behind the really good players. It'd be nice to be able to improve to their level, but I'm starting to wonder if I've maxed out my UT ability.

Are you guys still improving? ... I'd be curious to know, especially you *really* good players. Because I want to get as good as you guys :)

|H|Alarion
11th Sep 2000, 12:17 PM
Sky, I feel too that I am on a plateau... I *know* I am slowly getting better, but I am not where I think I should be. I have been playing since the tail end of march, and yes, I am DEFINATELY better than when I first started.

Just keep playing man.. maybe you need to step up the competition (erm.. well, you allready play with some of the better guys... hmm)

I keep trying to get |C| to recognize me *lol* but that's a long way from happening :D

Just keep it up man, I have played against ya before, and you are pretty damn good =)

Stosh
11th Sep 2000, 12:24 PM
I know I've improved tremendously since I started. Lately though, it seems like I still have a tough time against the better players, expecially lpb's.

It just seems like I have not improved in the last few weeks. I'm trying a few things. One is to play with weapon hidden. I think it's improving my aiming, but too early to tell yet.

Since I joined the pufladder 1on1 DM, I have yet to win a match. That is pretty disheartening. Playing 1on1 though, I think has helped me quite abit.

Just keep trying....

GunnerX