Weapon mods

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hierophant

Aug 10, 2000
Visit site
I'm just getting into the whole "mod" thing and started by downloading some weapons to use with my original Unreal.

I follow the directions with the mods and put the "*.u" files in the Unreal\System directory then try to "SUMMON" them in a game, but nothing happens.

Will weapon modifications work at all with the original Unreal or am I going about this all wrong?

I'm sure it's something stupid, but hey, I want to try something new.

Thanks,
Hiero

darklite

Apr 3, 2000
were they made for Unreal or UT? I've never gotten into the mod scene for Unreal but I would think the author would actually replace the weapons (atleast that's how they usually work in the UT weapons mods), not force you to summon them.
just out of curiosity, how exactly are you trying to summon the weapons? it should be something like summon filename.item. ie; say you have a mod called newweap.u that has a gepgun.. it would be: summon newweap.gepgun or something like that
if they were made for UT, I really doubt they would work. :) you should buy UT if you don't already have it; its worth the $40 or however much it is nowadays

Gir

Offensive mode!
Apr 23, 2000
Peking Eend.
Visit site
1. are you sure you installed them in the right directory? I often think I do, but the winzip files sometimes already contain the directories. So for example, if I would unzip them in the wong directory they could be in a place like this: C:\games\unreal\system\system\weapon.un(or whatever filename)