PDA

View Full Version : Alan Wake for PC??

Jacks:Revenge
19th Feb 2012, 06:12 PM
they decided to wait 2 freakin' years, but Alan Wake has dropped for the PC this week and I'm thinking about picking it up. but I never even got the chance to try it on 360 because none of my friends had it and I didn't bother renting it. I remember a lot of hype surrounding its gameplay and visuals but just didn't get around to looking into it.

I'm sure someone here has.
I've heard it described as Myst but with action.

can anyone elaborate?

Capt.Toilet
19th Feb 2012, 06:30 PM
I liken it to more Max Payne(writing) with some Silent hill thrown in. There is a reason why I started playing it at 6am and didn't stop till around noonish, it really sucks you in with the atmosphere. Finding the hidden manuscripts adds that much more to the story and are kinda essential in my opinion. The game is not a run and gun, you will learn to conserve what ammo you have, and when to either fight that group of baddies or leg it to the nearest light source.

19th Feb 2012, 06:32 PM
yeah I keep coming across the phrase "fight with light" which I can only assume means there's some kind of nightmare zombies running around this otherwise idyllic looking town.

they're not actual zombies are they?

SirYawnalot
19th Feb 2012, 07:48 PM
How's the gameplay when fighting breaks out? Max Payne features one of the most entertaining gunplay dynamics I've played; I know Alan Wake isn't so excessive with its shooting, but is it reasonably satisfying when it occurs?

19th Feb 2012, 08:55 PM
well there's this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0m0G2_t16WY

but I'm more interested in knowing the action to adventure ratio lol.
like, in the overall game how much of your time is spent exploring and doing puzzles and how much is spent in some type of combat?

Capt.Toilet
19th Feb 2012, 09:11 PM
well there's this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0m0G2_t16WY

but I'm more interested in knowing the action to adventure ratio lol.