UE2 - UT2kX New: UnrealScript questions

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Explosix

Aug 29, 2011
Hello.

I am rather new to Unrealscript. Actually I haven't programmed in it yet, but I have a few questions regarding its structure and features. I am a literate C/C++ programmer though, so the syntax looks familiar, and I can understand most of the language. Although there are a few things I'd like to ask about the internal workings of unreal engine.

I'll begin with this:

Let's say I create a new class in UnrealEd - it's a subclass of the Trigger class. I name it "UltraWind" and it resides in my own package "CoolTriggers". Now what would happen, if there was another class of the same name already present and loaded? Obviously we have a name conflict, but is this legal in unrealscript? i.e. the first class is named "UltraWind" and is a subclass of the "Trigger" class, and belongs to package "CoolTriggers". The second one is also named "UltraWind", but instead it is a subclass of the "Keypoint" class and resides in the package "SpeedPath". Note that both packages are custom made, and both have to be loaded in a level. How does this scenario play out?

Regards

Explosix

Aug 29, 2011
Hey Rachel, nice to see you again!
I remember you from the old days when I still played UT2004 - The OMFG gun (lol) and DM-Reconstruct (one of my fav maps).