UE3 - UT3 Need to modify Bot behavior Can anyone Help

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

GameScripter

Aug 21, 2009
I want to accomplish the following, and I am looking at UTBOt.uc and Actor.uc.

I am a newbie and do not understand where to start. I know I have to create a gametype. I know how to use a mutator to modify Weapons but when it comes to modify more complex behavior I am lost.

Do I start extending Actor class or UTBot class?

Also to initilize vars and spawn several bots do I need to use PostBeginPlay then AddBot()

I tried that and I get the bot but they still have a weapon, however they dont shoot anymore.

How would I have the NPC swarm me..

2. Make AI in deathmatch so that they swarm you. distance they can see you will be very long. (maybe done with AI variables in gametype,game info, deathmatch etc.)
3. Make level allow 100s of players.
4. Make default inventory for non player characters be nothing, and default inventory for player be just impact hammer, or a small gun
5. Make it so that when enemies run into you, they cause damage. (Goal is to make enemeis not use weapons, like zombies).

thanks for arll your help

Phoenix_Wing

Official Kantham Stalker
Mar 28, 2008
California
I dont know how AddBot works, but maybe the AI isnt being set to the bot for that gametype (i.e Deathmatch AI on Onslaught)

2. Subclass UTTeamAI and build off of that for your bots. Vision is defined in Controller or Pawn. Either one.

3. I wouldn't recommend this. This (online at least and older computers) would cause a lot of lag and performance decrease.

Knowing that though, here is what you need.