PDA

View Full Version : 2nd to Last Resort help T_T


ENDER3000
22nd Jun 2009, 11:07 AM
Hey guys. Been playing UT for bout 7 years now and now i've run into problems.
First my sys specs:
Windows XP Pro
Pentium 4, 1.8 GHz
768MB Ram
100GB HD w/20 GB free.
128MB Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 (Recent upgrade too, had 64MB GeForce2 b4 this)
Virtual memory

set @ 2048 - 4096 (max) - was set to 1154 - 2048 b4, I changed it to try and fix it, no change.
------------
Now I've posted screenshot of the problem. Its a virtual memory error. This happened when I decided to play the offline game again and it crashed w/e I beat a category and went to the trophy room. Now I've never gotten this problem b4 (I've beaten it b4 and gotten to load the trophy room map just fine) and this was when I had my old vid. card.

I've also posted my UT.ini, incase some settings I use are causing it (dunno). I use OGL render. I have 3.4 atm, need to get 3.5 and update it.
also posted a log file from when I tried it in safe mode, still didn't work.
and I've posted pics of my Nvidia card settings, incase those could be the problem. T_T
---
My last resort is to reinstall, though i'd rather not cause I have a lot of files that I've DLed that I dont wanna lose T_T
---
Lemme know if you need anything else. :)

Thanks to those who can or try to help :)

medor
22nd Jun 2009, 01:40 PM
you have opengl and set vsyncro on for d3d.

try to not set with your manage 3dsetting.

opengl35 http://unrealtournament.99.free.fr/utfiles/Video_Renders/OpenGL/utglr35.zip

[OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
UseVSync=False
FrameRateLimit=190
Translucency=False
VolumetricLighting=False
ShinySurfaces=False
Coronas=False
HighDetailActors=True
DetailTextures=False
FastTranslucency=1
VertexLighting=0
UseTNT=False
Translucency=1
UseVertexSpecular=1
UseTrilinear=False
UseS3TC=True
LODBias=0.000000
MaxAnisotropy=0
SupportsLazyTextures=1
GammaOffset=0.420000
NumAASamples=0
UseAA=False
SwapInterval=0
UseVertexProgram=False
UseCVA=False
UseMultiDrawArrays=True
UseSSE=2
AAFilterHint=0
TexDXT1ToDXT3=False
DynamicTexIdRecycleLevel=100
UseTexPool=True
UseTexIdPool=True
BufferClippedActorTris=True
SinglePassDetail=True
ColorizeDetailTextures=False
DetailClipping=True
UseDetailAlpha=True
NoFiltering=False
UseFilterSGIS=False
Use4444Textures=False
UseAlphaPalette=True
UsePrecache=True
AlwaysMipmap=True
ShareLists=True
UseMultiTexture=True
MaskedTextureHack=False
MaxTMUnits=0



d3d9 http://unrealtournament.99.free.fr/utfiles/Video_Renders/D3D9/utd3d9r11.zip

[D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice]
UseVSync=False
SwapInterval=0
ZRangeHack=False
NoAATiles=False
NumAASamples=0
UseAA=False
RequestHighResolutionZ=True
UseSoftwareVertexProcessing=False
UsePureDevice=True
UseTripleBuffering=False
MaskedTextureHack=False
SmoothMaskedTextures=False
FrameRateLimit=190
UseVertexProgram=True
TexDXT1ToDXT3=False
DynamicTexIdRecycleLevel=100
CacheStaticMaps=False
UseTexPool=True
UseTexIdPool=True
UseSSE2=True
UseSSE=True
BufferTileQuads=True
BufferClippedActorTris=True
SinglePassDetail=False
SinglePassFog=False
ColorizeDetailTextures=False
DetailClipping=False
UseDetailAlpha=True
DetailMax=0
RefreshRate=0
MaxTMUnits=0
NoFiltering=False
MaxAnisotropy=0
Use565Textures=False
Use16BitTextures=False
UseS3TC=False
UseAlphaPalette=False
UseTrilinear=False
UsePrecache=False
UsePalette=False
UseMultiTexture=True
MaxLogTextureSize=8
MinLogTextureSize=0
MaxLogVOverU=8
MaxLogUOverV=8
OneXBlending=True
GammaCorrectScreenshots=False
GammaOffsetBlue=0.000000
GammaOffsetGreen=0.000000
GammaOffsetRed=0.000000
GammaOffset=0.100000
LODBias=0.000000
DetailTextures=False
DescFlags=0
Description=
HighDetailActors=False
Coronas=False
ShinySurfaces=False
VolumetricLighting=False


if you whant an UT ready for fight (no patch juste select opengl or d3d9) http://unrealtournament.99.free.fr/utfiles/UT_Demo/UnrealTournament-V3.exe

Zur
22nd Jun 2009, 02:36 PM
You may have a corrupt file somewhere. Only way to find out is to use a file comparing utility with someone who has a working copy. As for files, you can use cache converter to move everything to a separate folder and point to them by editing paths in your ut ini.

ENDER3000
23rd Jun 2009, 08:54 AM
thx for the replies guys :) I'll try these settings when I get home again :D Hopefully it'll work!:lol:

ENDER3000
24th Jun 2009, 04:12 PM
K This is an update. It had nothing to do w/the settings (Thank god lol)

I remembered that there were several other maps that would give me this error, so I tried opening them again and I noticed a similarity between each error and that was the texture file EOL.utx

So I got a fresh copy of the file and replaced it and now it works. So for other ppl who have sufficient system specifications but get this error, read the error and see what file it is having trouble loading. Its possibly corrupted :)

War_Master
24th Jun 2009, 05:50 PM
Your game crashes and you get that error when you play a map with a teture with no MipMaps bigger than 256x256 using the default d3d. If you still wanna play without crashing you can just use OpenGL.

It seems that you were lucky that the maker of that texture package learned how to make a freaken texture package and updated it rofl.

GreatEmerald
25th Jun 2009, 03:48 AM
EOL.utx is a stock texture package from epic :lol:

War_Master
25th Jun 2009, 09:09 AM
EOL.utx is a stock texture package from epic :lol:

Ever heard of altered default packages?

GreatEmerald
25th Jun 2009, 09:17 AM
Then that wasn't the maker of the package, it was the alterer :p

ENDER3000
29th Jun 2009, 06:22 PM
i was using OGL incase u didn't notice XD :P

and in this case, the alterer was prolly the mapper :P