PDA

View Full Version : UE3 - UT3 Kismet - Help Setting on/off A material switch parameter


Bazzwano
28th Oct 2008, 10:32 PM
Hello, I'm trying to turn on and off a switch within one of the default material instances. I cannot Find a way to do this with kismet.

Does anyone have any ideas?

I have attached below an Image to help explain what I want to do.

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/1002/changevaluesr9.jpg

Thanks In advance if anyone can help

Bazzwano
1st Nov 2008, 03:23 PM
does anyone have any ideas? is no one able to do this.. it seems like such a simple thing i want to do.

Hourences
1st Nov 2008, 04:11 PM
On my website is a tutorial on triggering materials. It doesnt use the same example, but youll get the idea.

Im not super certain on how to make that flag true though, in cases like this I usually just multiply it with a parameter, set that to 1.0, and then in Kismet I can bring it to 0. and 0 zero times a certain effect, or panning speed is 0...

Bazzwano
1st Nov 2008, 07:51 PM
yeh i know how to change the texture.. I know the other method you speak of, I used that in safeguard turning on off the alarm lights.. but never mind. I really just wana turn if off and on, o well Ill just have to settle for second best.

Thanks for posting thought

_N_
1st Nov 2008, 09:58 PM
Maybe you could do it using the method from Hourence's site, but instead of using "Set TextureParam" you could try "Set ScalarParam". To turn the checkbox on, you could try setting the the "UsePanner" value to "true" (or perhaps "True") and to uncheck the box, you could set it to "false". I vaguely recall reading about this somewhere but can't remember where... well, let me know if it works (no promises).

Bazzwano
2nd Nov 2008, 01:35 AM
Thanks for the post, but Im aware of that method with out the need for Hourences tut.. hes a legend but i know all that.

I remember kismit allows you to change 3 different material instance values... switches was not one of them.. also using a matinee to Set ScalarParam will only affect the mask transparency or blend ,if you will, over the black display material.. so changing that will ether show the logo or show the player a display with nothing on it.

the panner actually affects the display from being ether a full glow, or dim with the effect that you see on the team arrows monitor.

Hourences
2nd Nov 2008, 05:17 AM
Just remake the material so you can use a multiply operation?...

Bazzwano
2nd Nov 2008, 06:42 PM
yeh that would be the only way Hourences, but the I havnt worked with materials that much so the work would not be worth the effect.. it doesn't matter.. ill still use the effect but not on lit team logos just the ones with panner already enabled.

Thanks anyway guys :)