PDA

View Full Version : UT2kX MOV - Lords of Xibalba

hieloco
16th Apr 2008, 12:48 PM
Hi everybody!

Last year I did a Masters course in Game Design and Development in a University in the Netherlands (Utrecht School of the Arts). For my final project/thesis I touched upon the subject of how to bring non-western culture themes to a western market, without sacrificing the integrity of the source culture. I also did a machinima as a proof of concept for the thesis, where I applied everything that I said.

After several months, I finally decided that I should upload the project and thesis for everybody to see. I think it has gained more relevance for us (the Unreal community) specially after the fallout that various people have had with Unreal Tournament 3 and its less colorful palette. :o

As for the thesis, it has some flaws, but ultimately I also believe that I make some valid points regarding the treatment of non western themes and the retreading of the same old same old themes (sci-fi, military, and medieval). And about the machinima, well, heheheh I am definitely not a script writer, cameraman, or voice actor, but I hope you guys can get past its technical flaws and enjoy it. It's very colorful, at least! :D

The zip file including the machinima, thesis, and a small readme can be found in http://hosted.filefront.com/hieloco. There is also an SD video file of the movie in there, in case you don't want to install anything. It's a longer download, though.

In the end, I don't want to sound pretentious like if I know how to fix the industry, but it would be pretty nice if we could discuss arguments and counter arguments in this thread, if anyone would like to give the thesis a read! Oh and one more thing, I don't slam Gears (themewise) just because, but I think that it is the poster boy for this new trend in grayish, too-much-testosterone themes. (I slam Prince of Persia Warrior Within more, anyways.)