PDA

View Full Version : spawn point problem


madmoo
16th Apr 2006, 11:51 AM
when i place a player start and or a spawn point they always die! no mater were i put the spawn or player start they still die. i altered some of the options and still they die. non of my maps work!
this is probly a repost but hay what cha guna do.

Pseudo Safari
16th Apr 2006, 01:11 PM
Have you rebuilt your level? If you havent rebuilt and click the playtest button you'll die upon spawning

madmoo
16th Apr 2006, 01:13 PM
ive made remade and made again.
an i still die even when i click on the test map

Kantham
16th Apr 2006, 01:13 PM
Is it under the Zkill zone? (the red bar from the Front and Side Viewports)

madmoo
16th Apr 2006, 01:14 PM
dunno

Ironblayde
16th Apr 2006, 03:08 PM
dunno
Are you using UnrealEd 2? I'm guessing you are since you mentioned the SpawnPoint actor, which I don't think was included in UT2004. If you're working with UnrealEd 2, then Kantham's advice about the KillZ doesn't apply. If you're using UnrealEd 3, though, you need to check that and give us a more conclusive answer than "dunno."

If you're working with UnrealEd 2, make sure you're using PlayerStarts and not SpawnPoints (you mentioned both). A SpawnPoint is used for spawning monsters, not players.

Also, this may sound stupid, but make sure that you're placing your PlayerStarts inside a subtracted space, and not off in some inaccessible area somewhere.

ReD_Fist
16th Apr 2006, 08:30 PM
I hope you think EVERY map should have 16 playerstarts.Even if its a 1on1 map, but think if you pick 3 bots and you but put in 2 player starts, 2 are gonna die from spawnkills automaticaly.

If you have things inside a subtract brush (yello lined) and no high up spots or placed in lava everything should work.

neilthecellist
16th Apr 2006, 08:33 PM
I second Red_Fist's advice. The more PlayerStarts you have, the less probability of instant spawn-deaths. But 16 is a little...er, extreme...

ReD_Fist
16th Apr 2006, 08:39 PM
I second Red_Fist's advice. The more PlayerStarts you have, the less probability of instant spawn-deaths. But 16 is a little...er, extreme...

I allways fit 16 in but yes 8 at a minimum for sure,try fitting 32 in for bigass maps like ONS or huge things.

madmoo
17th Apr 2006, 06:21 AM
1 i dont have 2004 so no ons maps
2 i made a big cube and every spare point hade a player start
3 i terned all the bots off so i was in there on my own and i still died
4 i can use 2003 if i want but i prefur 99
5 all my playerstars are inside said cube

Ironblayde
17th Apr 2006, 12:41 PM
I don't know what to make of that, madmoo. Please zip up your map and attach it to a post in this thread, so I can take a look.

madmoo
17th Apr 2006, 12:52 PM
this is a simple 1. some close to ground some in air. soz bout some of them faceing walls but i did it in bout 2mins. oh and the scin is horible. be warnd minus scores are compulsery!

Pseudo Safari
17th Apr 2006, 07:41 PM
I opened your map up in the editor and found the problem.

When you make a new map (or any adjustments with additive and subtractive brushes I think) you've got to click "Rebuild Geometry" under the Build heading on your top menu. If you don't do this the map will kill anyone instantly as they spawn.

It helps me to think of the build settings as a way of making your collection of boxes and other random geometry compatible with Unreal Tournament itself. Without rebuilding all you have is a level that can be looked at in the editor and isn't really playable. The other build functions (lighting, paths etc.) are what you use when you want to update or finalise what you've done in that aspect of the map. But I'll stop now as I think this is getting a bit waffly and I'm a bit of an amateur myself.
I hope that solves it for you..?

and Parkour is great :) !

neilthecellist
17th Apr 2006, 08:12 PM
And remember, rebuild at regular time checkpoints during your map creations! If you rebuild a huge onslaught map, for example, it'll take you a few minutes, unless you have the latest hardware specs.

Ironblayde
17th Apr 2006, 11:38 PM
madmoo, rebuilding was the very first thing someone told you to do in this thread, and you said that you'd done it, although you obviously hadn't. What were you doing wrong?

neilthecellist
18th Apr 2006, 01:35 AM
Damn, nice catch. :)

ReD_Fist
18th Apr 2006, 02:22 AM
madmoo, rebuilding was the very first thing someone told you to do in this thread, and you said that you'd done it, although you obviously hadn't. What were you doing wrong?

Hmm.I assumed he was rebuilding all along.:eek:

last note.
putting the stuff in for the map is like a bunch of numbers for a calculator, when you hit "BUILD ALL" it's like the equals button and addds up all the numbers for a total map.

madmoo
18th Apr 2006, 07:45 AM
i actualy rebuilt all the maps to the milameter by hand instead of hiting the buton. did the rong thing.
thanx guys 4 all the help!!
if its ok im going to post a map 4 2003 that has viaclesl. its the test 1 in the main pack but this 1 has bot pathes, so if you help me make it beter befor i post it proply it would b gr8.

madmoo
18th Apr 2006, 09:54 AM
soz i will have to post it as a map.
but what is the best ftp thing to post on that i dont have to pay for? what do you use?

ReD_Fist
18th Apr 2006, 10:26 AM
dude, I aint gona help, GO FRICKING READ !!!.
ut03 is dead and it sux.

madmoo
18th Apr 2006, 11:35 AM
well ut04 is out of stock and i cant buy it 4 another month or so.
so ut03 will have to do. and it doesnt suck too much, exept for the bloody lightning gun, damn lightning gun.