hungry noob requesting help

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Defx666

Jan 1, 2006
Hi, im a newb on US i have some basic knowledge and im planning to get some knowledge to create mods
Due to the fact that i learn really fast i would like to start with something big
My idea is to be able to give players the abbility to fly, like a jetpack or something
So, im here asking for directions, where should i start, which classes should i look and so on

Thanks

SuperApe

Registered Monkey
Mar 20, 2004
Inna Jungle
wiki.beyondunreal.com
My advice is to start small no matter how fast you learn. It won't take too long to do one or two smaller mutators or mods.

A place to start: Unreal Wiki

Begining UScript: UnrealScript Topics and UnrealScript Lessons.

Specifics on Modding: Making Mods and Mutator Topics.

Specific Classes to look reguarding Players and a Jetpack item: Pawn and Inventory.

Other sites to bookmark: UDN, UnrealPlayground Forums and (this one) ;)

Oh yeah, and always remember to search all these sites first, just in case you're re-inventing the wheel.

Last edited:

Defx666

Jan 1, 2006
i guess you are right
what i really needed was a teacher
someone that could guide me trough the first steps

Phopojijo

A Loose Screw
Nov 13, 2005
Canada
Defx666 said:
i guess you are right
what i really needed was a teacher
someone that could guide me trough the first steps

Self-teaching by generic material is one of life's virtues... haven't you always wanted a virtue? :)

Defx666

Jan 1, 2006
i guess all coders here learned from looking at code
hell then, i wont be different
thx, i feel inspired \o/

Phopojijo