PDA

View Full Version : New to ut2k4


Defiant
13th Oct 2005, 12:11 PM
I am new to the game and have been playing about 4-5 months now. And I love it. However I have seen this mod and it has most assuredly grabbed my attention. However I can not find a server to play on with it. And I havent quite figured out how to get onto servers that post thier ip address. An example is......

http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?t=165320

How in the heck do I get to this server!? Thanxs in advance.....

P.S....who stole my name Leviathan grrrrrrr lol

DA|aBsOlUt
13th Oct 2005, 01:21 PM
Hmm, you should be able to go 'Play Online' and then on the 'Servers List' tab.

If you dont see any try using QuickPlay button which is located right after you press 'Play Online'.

One last thing, if you want to try it completely manually then press the console key which is '~' by default and type "open <ip address>" (no quotes).

Hunz
13th Oct 2005, 01:21 PM
Make sure you have turned the server-filters off. Dunno why they filter em, but they do.

P.S.: Dammit, who tries to steal my name!? ;)

Defiant
13th Oct 2005, 02:47 PM
I knew about the server list and quick play. But I just can not find this server. In fact I can't find any servers running this mod at all. I just wasn't sure on how to manually enter it. Do I have to enter a game to use the console? And does the < and > have to be used?

Lucian04
13th Oct 2005, 03:28 PM
I knew about the server list and quick play. But I just can not find this server. In fact I can't find any servers running this mod at all. I just wasn't sure on how to manually enter it. Do I have to enter a game to use the console? And does the < and > have to be used?


Go to "play online" and go to the favorites section. Where it says "Server" right click it to open up a drop down menu where you can input the servers ip address and then save it.

As for wanting to play with us, I'm always up for a game, we had a 16 + player match with me and DA|Eagle last night for 2 hours. It's good stuff.

I suggest downloading a program called xfire and then getting our xfire user names so you can see when any of us are playing online.

scott_bris
13th Oct 2005, 06:40 PM
Do you have Defence Alliance activated?

It wont show up in stock UT2004

Lucian04
13th Oct 2005, 08:35 PM
Do you have Defence Alliance activated?

It wont show up in stock UT2004


Too open DA2 up from ingame UT2004, go to the Community option and click on the USER MODS tab. From there select DA2 and activate it.

Defiant
14th Oct 2005, 01:22 AM
Do you have to install this mod before it'll work? Or is it like other mods that will download with the map?

Helioth
14th Oct 2005, 09:09 AM
. . . lol

DA|aBsOlUt
14th Oct 2005, 10:25 AM
Defiant, you must download DA2 in order to play it.

http://www.planetunreal.com/da

Hopefully your post was not sarcastic!

Defiant
15th Oct 2005, 02:05 PM
No my posts were not sarcastic, I'm am just getting into the game so I have a few questions as to how things work. Considering my only experience has been the demo up until now. But it's nice to know there are some asshats left in the world that will come and laugh at your posts when asking some questions. Congratz Helioth you have just graduated middle school, I'm very very proud of you. Moron.

Helioth
16th Oct 2005, 03:16 AM
*Some* people just get offended way to easily. . .
I really thaught the whole topic was posted in the name of irony, oh well.

You have to have the retail version of unreal tournament 2004, patched to 3355, and da2 installed to play it : ]
instructions are on the front page buddy ; )