PDA

View Full Version : Recoil - let the experiments begin.

gal-z
10th Aug 2005, 04:35 AM
Recoil in INF seems very unrealistic to me. It may be way better than any other game out there, but needs a lot of work. The only weapons I have good experience with are M-16, car-15, M4A1 with trijicon 4x and a haris bipod and M-24. I have some minimal experience with IMI negev (almost the same as the minimi) and the FN mag.
Right now in game it is too difficult to hip shoot with the minimi imo and too easy to shoot rapidly or full-auto with 5.56 when standing, yet a BIT too hard when moving.
So I started experimentig with what I can, and got results for 2 positions:
Crouch, 4 rounds, almost as rapid as full auto (the officer thought I was using full auto and made me stop shooting). Prone, 5 rounds, full auto.
Note the differnece where in crouch it went mostly to the right and a bit up while in prone it went mostly to the left and very little up. Probably because in crouch your right side of the body can be pushed back while in prone the stock slightly slides to the right so the barrel points more to the left. Those reasons are just a theory though. I'm a right handed shooter and was focused mostly on aiming the first shot and barely focused on handling recoil (since it's the first time I was testing very raid/auto fire when actually aiming the sights). Targets were at 25m.
Main conclusion you can see here is that recoil affects way more to the left/right and can go completely off to the other side in a different position.
Also when zeroing my M4A1 with bipod and trijicon 4x a while ago, every shot made it go way to the left as well, so it's possible that in prone as a rule the recoil will make your weapon turn to the left.