PDA

View Full Version : Random/different bot levels.


BooGiTyBoY
18th Jun 2005, 02:01 AM
There's a couple frontends and menu replacement mods for quake3 that let you not just set the skill level of your bots and have them all be the same, but it lets you set a range of skill levels. You select the bot level min/max so for example in UT you could set the minimum on experienced, and the maximum on inhuman. When the map loads and puts the bots in the map it selects random skill levels according to what you've set. It mixes it up rather well too. If you are playing a 1on1 it will give you a decent skill level bot to play against, but when you have a map with like 5-6 i will mix up a few average-good, highest level bot, and of course... the lowest level noob who runs in a straight line lol.

It gives a lot of variety to each game you play offline. Makes it fun cuz it's like playing humans on line and having them switch every map. You don't know what your up against until you start playing.

I'd like to see not only better map rotation modes in 2k7 (RANDOM WOULD BE NICE PLEASE!!!) but also a better bot system as well. Enough people I think use secondary progs like mapmixer or botmixer. WHO played UT and DIDN'T use xMaps??? (If you didn't use it SHAME ON YOU!) ;)

Vault
18th Jun 2005, 08:26 AM
sounds fine to me

Beowolf
19th Jun 2005, 05:56 PM
What does "auto adjust bot skills" do?

Majik
19th Jun 2005, 06:47 PM
Exactly what it says, it adjusts the bot skills automatically, but that isn't what Boogityboy is requesting... He wants to be able to play against bots of different skill levels in the same match. Something which I agree with.

With the new 'personality system' that they've promised I actually think we're going to see something like this, or atleast close to it, as bots are likely to be more varied in terms of skills and playing style. A mapmixer would be a nice feature too as, even though I do download new maps every now and then, I find myself rarely playing them because whenever I'm in a mood for a few quick botmatches, I'm too lazy to make a maplist and I have a few favourites that I for some some reason keep going back to.

JaFO
22nd Jun 2005, 07:17 AM
Got my vote.
Human players are rarely identical clones with identical skills.
So it would make sense if the bot-teams were a little more 'random' in their skill-sets.
Instead of them all being 'average' there really should be (a chance) that some that are much worse and much better than average.

For example : 3 'real godlike' bots vs 8 'real novice' would become an option this way. In the current games you'd be forced to set the skill to average and tweak 3 bots to have 'godlike' skills ...

On that note : I want to be able to select bots by team instead of as individuals.
Such a feature would allow for people to create their own teams as well and it could be linked with clan-features for on-line games (selecting skin/model-sets per team/clan).

The current method is fine for DM and/or a simulation of 'public servers', but it really would be a lot of fun if you could play a match like 'Iron Guard vs The Corrupt' in instant-action as well as the campaign.

NeoNite
22nd Jun 2005, 02:36 PM
I'd like to see not only better map rotation modes in 2k7 (RANDOM WOULD BE NICE PLEASE!!!) but also a better bot system as well. Enough people I think use secondary progs like mapmixer or botmixer. WHO played UT and DIDN'T use xMaps??? (If you didn't use it SHAME ON YOU!) ;)

So, did you use Xbots? Gives your Five extra bot lists. Lots of fun.
Instead of 32, you get 192 bots.

Course, you can always use marginal...

Bullet10k
23rd Jun 2005, 02:14 PM
Boogity that is your best sig ever, Nice Work! also like how it isnt abstract like any other sig....
EDIT: (Im talking about the one with the 3 animated bars.)

To be on topic: Ya the variety of random bots would be cool.

nuttella
24th Jun 2005, 03:05 AM
There's a couple frontends and menu replacement mods for quake3 that let you not just set the skill level of your bots and have them all be the same, but it lets you set a range of skill levels. You select the bot level min/max so for example in UT you could set the minimum on experienced, and the maximum on inhuman. When the map loads and puts the bots in the map it selects random skill levels according to what you've set. It mixes it up rather well too. If you are playing a 1on1 it will give you a decent skill level bot to play against, but when you have a map with like 5-6 i will mix up a few average-good, highest level bot, and of course... the lowest level noob who runs in a straight line lol.

You could do this in UT by changing each bot's SkillAdjust setting (not the same as auto-adjust skill). So, say if Loque was at +2 and Visse was -1, and you started a game on Masterful, Loque would be Godlike and Visse would be Adept. Used along with the other settings for bots and Random Order, you could do almost exactly what you're talking about under UT's stock setup. (It seems like a lot of people are saying, bring back the stuff from UT that was left out of 2k4.)

WHO played UT and DIDN'T use xMaps??? (If you didn't use it SHAME ON YOU!)

I'd use it if it worked properly with mutators, but it doesn't, so shame on xMaps.