Using and Not Using

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

b00z3r

At least you dont live with me!
Mar 18, 2002
BLAH
www.geocities.com
Ok, Ive searched and searched and cannot seem to find anything on "using" an actor.

Im new at this so bear with me.

Code:
//===========================================================
//Placeable Actor that allows for testing code
//===========================================================

class FX extends Actor placeable;

var int FXvar;
var Pawn pawnX;

event Timer()
{
 FXvar++;
 log("FXvar="$FXvar);
}

function Touch ( Actor Other )
{
 log("you just touched!");
 pawnX=Pawn(Other);
 setTimer (1.0, true);
}

function UnTouch (Actor Other )
{
 log("you just untouched!");
 pawnX=none;
 setTimer (0, false);
 FXvar=0;
}

defaultproperties
{
 FXvar=0
 bCollideActors=true
}

As you can see, this simple actor will just log out a count when I touch it, and reset when I untouch it. Now I want it to count when I use it, not touch it. But, I want it to count while I am using (holding down my use button). Any pointers would be awesome.

Mychaeel

The UsedBy function (declared in Actor) is called when an actor is "used" (using the "use" console command or a key bound to it).

You can start following the chain of execution which leads to this call by looking up "exec function Use" in PlayerController. It calls ServerUse (replicated from clients to server in online games), which then iterates over all actors the player's Pawn is currently touching and calls the UsedBy function on each of them.

Mychaeel