PDA

View Full Version : lighting disappears


spatte
20th Feb 2005, 12:53 AM
Hi there, I have a problem with BSP that won't light up properly. It looks fine when I move the lights or add a new one, but when I rebuild, some BSP surfaces are not lit.

First I tried deleting one of the BSP brushes that were unlit. That partcular brush then became lit, but at the same time a couple of other ones that were properly lit before turned dark.....

Has anybody encountered the same problem? Any suggestions appreciated

cherrs

mattituck17
20th Mar 2005, 06:29 PM
I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM IT WONT LIGHT THE MAP

Angel_Mapper
20th Mar 2005, 07:37 PM
It happens with subtracted brushes sometimes. What I do is:

1) Go into the Build Settings and slide the Minimize Cuts/Balance Tree bar to about 5.

-or-

2) Add another brush flush with the surface that's giving you the problem, like so:

http://angelmapper.com/BlackSurfaces.gif

spatte
28th Mar 2005, 06:14 AM
Thanks for the tip Angel Mapper, it solved some of my issues!

However, lighting problems still remains and I can't get a good nights sleep....

I have problems with darker parts and lines across the floors in the building I'm modeling. I have tried different settings and as you can see from the picture, it's not affecting one single brush.

Greatful for any help in what direction to go with this problem

Cheers

spatte
28th Mar 2005, 06:32 AM
Here's some information that I found on the topic. I guess it just shows that the engine is not really reliable when it comes to lighting and that you will have to treat it with care.....

http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/Lightmap_Errors

StardogChampion
28th Mar 2005, 03:44 PM
I'm having this problem too. I made some sheet bsp with double-sided textures on then rebuilt a couple of times - lighting was fine. Then I duplicated some of them then rebuilt - everything went dark apart from the ambient light, including the terrain.

I tried saving the map with as a new version but it still doesn't light, I also tried deleting all the bsp, deleting the zoneinfo and the sunlight actor, but still doesn't work.

Lucky it was just a small test map for trying out a fence texture.

hobojobo
3rd Aug 2005, 06:38 AM
Yeah, this is happening to me too, except the entire level becomes unlit when I build the lighting. The ambient light still works, but my sunlight acts like it's off until I move it. Could it possibly be a problem with the light itself?

l3hmi
3rd Aug 2005, 10:34 AM
try to turn off T&L support in the engine's properties

rebuild the lighting and look if it works... helped wonders (with UT2004)