PDA

View Full Version : communication between c++ program and unrealscript program ?

shihchiy
1st Feb 2005, 06:47 PM
Hi,

I am new to Unreal script.

I would like to control the player's camera using "Magnetic Tracker" instead of using mouse or joystick. However, the driver of "Magnetic Tracker" is coded through C++. How can I connect C++ code to Unrealscript ? So that the Unrealscript program can keep receiving data from "Magnetic Tracker".

Best

Luke

Sir_Brizz
2nd Feb 2005, 12:43 AM
The only way would be for "Magnetic Tracker" to write information to an INI file that the UScript can read from, afaik.

shihchiy
2nd Feb 2005, 03:09 AM
The only way would be for "Magnetic Tracker" to write information to an INI file that the UScript can read from, afaik.

"Megnetic Tracker" is operated in real time that data of 6 Degree of Freedom (DOF) will keep outputing to Unrealscript. The amount of data will be 1000 sets/sec. Each set of data will include x,y,z,rx,ry,rz. Will it be fast enough to transfer data through INI file in real time?

Best

Luke

[SAS]Solid Snake
2nd Feb 2005, 03:46 AM
The only way would be for "Magnetic Tracker" to write information to an INI file that the UScript can read from, afaik.Not neccessarily. You can also use TCP or UDP to connect from Unreal to an external program, being able to share data between programs (Send, receive). But I am in doubt at how fast you could send/receive data because that kind of connection is best used for latent type connections such as website. There are also other methods, but I am in doubt whether they would be fast enough to be used as an input type.

Sir_Brizz
2nd Feb 2005, 11:49 AM
I am doubtful that using an INI would be fast enough either, at that rate. There is really no faster way to interface between Unreal and another program.

Switch`
8th Feb 2005, 06:04 PM