Drawing 3D lines?

  • Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

lazy303

New Member
Sep 20, 2004
13
0
0
Hi?

Is it possible to draw 3D Lines in ut2004?
I have only found line drawing functions in
the Canvas class, but those are only for 2D
Lines...

And I don't want to use the DrawDebugLine...

If it isn't possible, how would I draw something
that is supposed to look like a line with variable
length?

thanks
 
Last edited:

lazy303

New Member
Sep 20, 2004
13
0
0
How render with Draw3DLine?

El_Muerte_[TDS] said:
Draw3DLine in the class Hud

yepp, found it... but... it says in hud.uc that you're supposed to use it in the
RenderWorldOverlays() event...

So I added : in my hud class
Code:
simulated event RenderWorldOverlays()
{
   Draw3DLine(StartPos,EndPos,Col);
}

but the event never happens... and the event isn't used anywhere
in the UT2004 code...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

empty_other

New Member
Oct 19, 2004
62
0
0
You could try the WorldToScreen function to set startpoint and endpoint... Check at unrealwiki (search for HUD_Interactions) for one use of it...

It wouldnt really be real 3d though...
 
Last edited:

elmuerte

Master of Science
Jan 25, 2000
1,936
0
36
42
the Netherlands
elmuerte.com
lazy303 said:
yepp, found it... but... it says in hud.uc that you're supposed to use it in the
RenderWorldOverlays() event...
heh... it's a typo :)
the real event is WorldSpaceOverlays , it's the last thing called when rendering the world (e.g. before the HUD is drawn).
if you looked at HUD or search for the Usage of Draw3DLine you might have noticed it.

and you don't need to use WorldToScreen