PDA

View Full Version : Wondering if it's possible to...


Skipx2
16th Oct 2004, 11:38 PM
Hey all,
I have to pay kudos to all those involved in UT2Vote. I've been using it on my servers for months now and its a great addition. I'm thankful to have it.

I do have a question. I'm running an LMS server. I have noticed that if you want to switch maps and mutators that you can't do them together, you have to do them seperate. This results in 2 restarts. Example: I'm playing map A with no mutators. I want to play map B with a mutator. To do that, I have to select the map B and then after the map changes, select the mutator, and wait for the map to reload with the mutator.

Is there a way to set the next map AND the mutator all at once so it only switches maps once? :)

Thanks again for such a cool and helpful tool!

Skip

Imaginos
17th Oct 2004, 01:05 AM
Unfortunately, the way UT2Vote is currently written, the vote cycle loops only once. When a vote is initiated, players have the ability to vote a gametype, mutator, arena, or map all in one round. Only one majority of all those can win though.
To have a multi-stage voting process where first a game or map is selected, then one or several mutators are voted would really kill the streamlining of the vote process. It would almost equate to a multi-menu preflight for each mapchange that would slow things down if/when not everyone votes on a timely basis.
While there's no provision for what you want to do in the current builds of UT2Vote, this may spark some other ideas on how we may be able to accomodate it.

ProAsm
17th Oct 2004, 05:47 AM
The whole problem is basically a technical one.
When UT2Vote first started out back in UT1 days and was then known as ProVote we had 2 choices of how to code it.
1. Using multi Replications and load and store all games, mutators, maps, basically everything Clientside.
2. Using a single Replication and doing everything Serverside one at a time.

At the time 56k modems and 64k ISDN was very much the majority connection in the rest of the world other than USA and UK.
BDB had most of that area covered with his Mapvote which used Option 1 above but would lag like hell for the modem player.
I'm sure if you were around then you would remember waiting sometimes several minutes when you joined a game for all this stuff to download to your client before you could even start the game.

We decided to opt for Option 2 and ProVote became very popular in the rest of the world especially amongs 56k Modem and 64k ISDN players.

As time marched on, PC's became more powerfull and connections became faster where today the average player has at least got ADSL of some sort.
BUT, UT2Vote still uses Option 2 and hence is restricted to the Single Replication and doing things Serverside in a one at a time bases.
To change this now to Option 1 would be like a total re-write from scratch and would take months and at this stage is just not worth it as the only thing it really effects is the "multichoice" options and remember the "voting" only plays about 30% of UT2Vote, while the rest is Admin and ClanMatch stuff, which btw, needs to be Serverside.
;)

Skipx2
18th Oct 2004, 01:12 AM
Thanks for the reply guys.

Actually, I was talking about when logged in as admin (I didn't put this in the post, oops) to do the multiple switch, not as a vote. However, I'm guessing that this is still the same condition that you are talking about for voting.

Not a big deal, I just thought I'd ask. Thanks again so much for all your hard work.

Any way to make a clap of thunder play when kicking or banning a player? LOL.