PDA

View Full Version : Physically removing the windows key

rhirud
1st Sep 2004, 04:31 AM
There is no need- You can remap the keyboard at registry level with this tool

http://www.tucows.com/preview/327616.html

I've also remapped the left alt key, to right alt, and vice verca, because I used both alt and tab within the game - and if i pressed them together - then I'd taskswich to my desktop - not ideal.

The only downside is now having to remember to use theright alt for ctrl- alt-delete

Remapping fools windows into thinking my "windows key" is another key of my choosing. So i've arbitarily fooled my computer to think the windows key is "end" - and this allows me to use the windows key as a button in the game - I use it to play my vehichle horn.

I've been using it now for 3 months, and since it's a registry tool, it doesn't run in the background, it's a fire and forget solution.

Radiosity
1st Sep 2004, 05:34 AM
Cool, that's one annoying windows 'feature' I can disable. Only 2,000,567 more to go :rolleyes:

Incidentally, if anyone happens to know how to stop XP constantly customizing my folder views after I've already set them up how I like, I'll give them a soddin' HUGE cookie with chocolate chip topping :) This is currently #1 of my top 10 most hated windows XP 'features', coming just before 'Sticky keys' (at least I can turn sticky keys off though).

[/semi-hijack]

KenjiE20
1st Sep 2004, 06:45 AM
@ Radiosity: Nope, this is controlled under the windows 'hidden' control panel, where Bill Gates edits the random crash value.

T2A`
1st Sep 2004, 08:10 AM
Radiosity: The whole folder customization thing is probably a bug. In theory, you get 400 (I believe; may be a tweakable setting) folders that stay however you want them and when you change the 401st, the first goes back to however Winpoops wants it. But I can't get it to remember three folders, so I don't know. No "sodding" cookie for me (crazy Europeans ;)).

Thread starter: Cool. :D

BooGiTyBoY