PDA

View Full Version : >16 bots?


stonetear
31st Mar 2000, 09:51 AM
How come whenever I start a new multiplayer game, I can never add more than 16 bots? I have several maps where the author says that play with 24, or 32 bots is reccomended, but if I type a number higher than 16 in the bots box, it changes back to 16. wtf! :P It's not a resource issue (K7, 256 MB RAM, etc) Help please!

Paul

[FiS]Prophetus|PUF
31st Mar 2000, 10:41 AM
I think you're speaking about a LAN multiplayer...16 bots is the max default you can type in the setting box. What you need to do is start the game and hit the "~" tilde key to bring up your console. Then type "addbots 32" without the quotes. Of course the number can be anything you wish. As far as online net servers, the amount of players is based on how fast and reliable the server is and how many ppl it can handle. I'm not sure, but you can check the default ini files to see if you can change the default maximum number of bots...

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
Lure the Tiger out of the mountains...
Then run your @ss off fool!

[Ci]Prophetus][PuF][
CAPTURE! Home of CTF map reviews, strategies and Forums.

LordKhaine
1st Apr 2000, 07:26 AM
Just dont EVER EVER do what i tryed. 200 bots in DM-Stalwart. I put 100 in and it was total chaos. Then i put 200 in and UT crashed /~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif

Quitch
1st Apr 2000, 07:32 AM
But it is stupid is it not? They limit you to 16 in the box, then give you a console command with no limit!!! What the hell is the point in that?

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
Quitch
"Howdy doodie little kitty, the baaaad man is here"

geogob
1st Apr 2000, 09:54 AM
well there are not many computer that can handle more than 32 bot... even 16 is too many many on some levels for a lot of PCs.

Porbably, when limiting the bot count to 16, the creators of UT whanted to limit crashes and to improve network compatibility and such other related things.

Console commands where first thought for server administrators, programmers, map makers and mod editors who normaly know quite well the limits of their hardware and not for novice gamers. this is probably why they put the feature in the console (along with hundreds of other very advanced feature for some).



http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
--- Geogob ---
The only way out is the C4 way

geogob
1st Apr 2000, 09:54 AM
well there are not many computer that can handle more than 32 bot... even 16 is too many many on some levels for a lot of PCs.

Porbably, when limiting the bot count to 16, the creators of UT whanted to limit crashes and to improve network compatibility and such other related things.

Console commands where first thought for server administrators, programmers, map makers and mod editors who normaly know quite well the limits of their hardware and not for novice gamers. this is probably why they put the feature in the console (along with hundreds of other very advanced feature for some).



http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
--- Geogob ---
The only way out is the C4 way

geogob
1st Apr 2000, 09:55 AM
well there are not many computer that can handle more than 32 bot... even 16 is too many many on some levels for a lot of PCs.

Porbably, when limiting the bot count to 16, the creators of UT whanted to limit crashes and to improve network compatibility and such other related things.

Console commands where first thought for server administrators, programmers, map makers and mod editors who normaly know quite well the limits of their hardware and not for novice gamers. this is probably why they put the feature in the console (along with hundreds of other very advanced feature for some).



http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
--- Geogob ---
The only way out is the C4 way