PDA

View Full Version : Running arena guns as mutators


groovyjoker
24th Aug 2004, 09:00 AM
Hello,

I am new to UT2Vote, having run a Duel Server. I just loaded version 43 and realized that attempting to run two or more arena-style guns (muts) will require a work-around, such as the worm mut.

Will version 44 assist with this, or will I still need to look into the worm? Thanks and I am glad I stumbled upon this board.

ProAsm
24th Aug 2004, 01:01 PM
LOL... can someone help here as this is way outa my legue :)

groovyjoker
24th Aug 2004, 06:44 PM
LOL... can someone help here as this is way outa my legue :)


Let me rephrase to simplify. I have turned my duel server into a regular DM server and loaded UT2Vote v.43.

On the server, I would like to run two or more guns that are classified as "arena" guns - spoons' SAU2k4_101 rifle is one, for example.

UT2Vote allows the choice of choosing arena, but it will not allow you to choose two guns that require the arena mut. Why? I don't know. Basicially, you have two guns that both require the same mutator (arena style) and UT2Vote will not run them simultaneously in the mutator list so that people can choose one or the other.

Some suggest that using the Worm weapon switching mutator helps solve this, but I don't think that is the appropriate solution.

Does that make any more sense? Sorry all. ;)

groovyjoker
24th Aug 2004, 07:58 PM
Hey - thanks for the help guys! I have been turned onto your game make utility and hopefully all will be well! Man, what quick response time here!

ProAsm
25th Aug 2004, 01:10 PM
Man, what quick response time here!
Remember we are on the other side of the world so when you are playing etc we are sleeping or working in regular jobs :)

UT2Vote or any mut for that matter cannot allow 2 arena's at the same time simply because that is what an arena is.
ie.. All weapons are the same, so how can 2 weapons share 'all be the same'.

groovyjoker
25th Aug 2004, 03:30 PM
UT2Vote or any mut for that matter cannot allow 2 arena's at the same time simply because that is what an arena is

That I understand - I dont need to run the guns at the same time, in one arena.

I wanted to run them separately, like have different arena deathmatch options, each with its own gun. People would vote on the gun they wanted to use.

From what I understand GameMake lets me do that.

frogger187
25th Aug 2004, 03:49 PM
i'm not fully understanding either...are you trying to have 2 different DM gametypes...one with redeemer arena and one with sniper arena (for example)

sh0V3l
25th Aug 2004, 08:06 PM
yeah she wants votable arena games i set her up with gamemake3 went thru it all with her via msn so she should be all set :)

ProAsm
26th Aug 2004, 03:29 PM
Thanks m8 ;)