PDA

View Full Version : Increasing Player Count


Slabjacker
20th Jul 2004, 02:40 PM
Excuse my amateur knowledge here but I've seen some UT maps that can accommodate up to 30 players. Is this only for online play? Or is there some file you can put into your UT folder that increases the number of bots you can play against when you're on your own? Currently, I can only max out at 16 bots per map. If there's something out there that will increase that number, please direct me to it. Cheers!

SJ :o

Nemezis
21st Jul 2004, 07:09 AM
Hi!
I don't know if you're talking about UT99 or UT200x, but I have managed to play with 21 bots + me in a regular CTF game in UT99. I've used Xmaps Mod, its really usefull and has many other goodies to play with, like extended map list, associating map types with certain mutators, etc.. I don't know were to find this mod, I'll try to discover a link to put in here :D

c ya

----

Here it is:
http://www.planetunreal.com/xmaps/downloads_index.html

Slabjacker
21st Jul 2004, 09:25 AM
Yes, I'm talking about the original UT (from '99, I guess). I prefer to play the Deathmatches, often using Last Player Standing. That's the game type that I'd like to increase the player count to. Does the file you've referred me to do this for the DMs too?

SJ

Nemezis
21st Jul 2004, 09:35 AM
Yes, whatever the gametype or mods used, doesn't matter. If you want 20 bots, you have 20 bots, if you prefer 30, then 30 you have :lol:

Slabjacker
21st Jul 2004, 01:31 PM
Thanks for the reply again. I downloaded it as you suggested but I still haven't figured out how to up the player count. I slid the bar for "maximum number of players" all the way over but it hasn't made a difference. Can you give me some instructions on how to set this up? Thanks.

SJ

Nemezis
21st Jul 2004, 01:55 PM
ok, I remember playing with a setting where i could configure the maximum number of players, and I guessed that it depends on the map player count itself.on a smaller map, the xmaps loads few players, but on large levels, it adds many more bots. don't know other way, but maybe its possible adjusting the xmaps options.

NeoNite
21st Jul 2004, 06:35 PM
You do realise there's also a simple command, for UT (bloody fugly ut99), called "addbots xx" (whereas xx is the nr.)

There's also a mutator called "32bots" iirc.

Maybe not really what you're looking for, but I just wanted to add this :B

Alhanalem
29th Jul 2004, 09:40 AM
If you want 31 bots (total 32 players) just start game with any number of bots, open the console and type addbots 32