PDA

View Full Version : I need Help Skin Wont Work


Joe-vgk.ne1.net
14th Jul 2004, 11:19 AM
For some reason I got on UT yesterday and my skin wouldnt work, it was the Regular Boss Skin. So I decided to download a new boss skin the AA Boss Clan Skin and it wont work. I put the INT file in the System foler and the UTX file in the UTX folder.

Did I forget to do something, by the way I dont know if this matters but I play on online servers.

Joe-vgk.ne1.net
14th Jul 2004, 11:40 AM
Is it something that says this in the READ ME FILE:

" For server usage, add this in your unrealtournament.ini:

[Engine.GameEngine]
ServerPackages=boss-AA "

Dunno how to do that!

SaD
14th Jul 2004, 11:55 AM
To use a skin online it must be installed on the server , too .

To add ServerPackages=boss-AA to UnrealTournament.ini .
Open the UnrealTournament.ini with a program like wordpad and add the ServerPackages under [Engine.GameEngine].

To use Boss-Skins you need the Bossface-fix (http://www.beyondunreal.com/dl.php/skincity/tools/bossface.zip)

Have you finished the Tournament ?
If not add this at the End of the User.ini :
[Botpack.Ladder]
HasBeatenGame=True
After that Xan is enabled .The User.ini is in the /system-directory , too .Open it with the same program like the UnrealTournament.ini .

Joe-vgk.ne1.net
15th Jul 2004, 12:19 PM
To use a skin online it must be installed on the server , too .

To add ServerPackages=boss-AA to UnrealTournament.ini .
Open the UnrealTournament.ini with a program like wordpad and add the ServerPackages under [Engine.GameEngine].

To use Boss-Skins you need the Bossface-fix (http://www.beyondunreal.com/dl.php/skincity/tools/bossface.zip)

Have you finished the Tournament ?
If not add this at the End of the User.ini :
[Botpack.Ladder]
HasBeatenGame=True
After that Xan is enabled .The User.ini is in the /system-directory , too .Open it with the same program like the UnrealTournament.ini .

I dont get what and where this "ini" thing is?

SaD
15th Jul 2004, 12:44 PM
I dont get what and where this "ini" thing is?

You find both iniīs (UnrealTournament.ini and User.ini) in the system-directory from Unreal Tournament.
If itīs installed on Harddisk C: , it will look like these :
C:\UnrealTournament\System\UnrealTournament.ini

Cantar
15th Jul 2004, 05:12 PM
*EDIT* sorry i was being rude

Joe-vgk.ne1.net
15th Jul 2004, 06:25 PM
Ahh can see the connection Unreal Tournament Skins and the Internet

I got it to work thanks SaD

K
30th Jul 2004, 01:03 PM
do wepons mods need to be loged in the ini some where for players to see wepons over lan?

klasnic
30th Jul 2004, 01:18 PM
If you think of a lan as basically a small internet then yes... Most weapon mutators need some kind of entry in the server's ut2004.ini file in order to push the mutator to the clients, either that or install the mutator on each client individually... Once you've that done it should work fine.

Note I'm talking about 2k3/2k4 but UT should be the same :)

[EDIT] The mutator's readme should contain any info you need as to what entries to put into the .ini file

Curve[UK]
30th Jul 2004, 05:40 PM
Did you try smacking it?

K
31st Jul 2004, 02:57 PM
yeah i kicked it and hurt my toe, but seriously we have the same mod on both computers and the client cant see the wepons, they can see the ammo but no wepons, yet they can still accidently pic them up, they can se me but no wepon in my hand and no rockets flying at them but they can se were they hit ha ha ha,specialy when its them im hitting ha ha .
i think there is a ini entry due here for sure, ill try that see if it works thanks allllllll

klasnic
31st Jul 2004, 06:55 PM
If the client can see them occasionally, I'd say it's more likely a detail setting that needs to be changed, a graphics issue or the fact that it's a lower spec pc perhaps... Good luck anyhow!