PDA

View Full Version : Cant join regular ONS server after FHI install?


atticbat
18th Apr 2004, 01:18 AM
Hey all...

just wondering if anyone else is encountering this issue...

After installing FHI (patched) I am no longer able to join our GZU Clan ONS server.

What I did to finally join was create a new directory in the system folder called 'fhi' and cut/pasted all of the FHI files into the directory.

Then I was able to join the ONS server no prob.

I was able to then cut/paste back into the system folder from the fhi folder, and join our FHI server, but this is a hassle and I am sure people will fidget and moan about it.

Any way to fix this issue?

atticbat
18th Apr 2004, 01:30 AM
just an added note, it appears as though moving the fhi.int will allow you to join no probs... versus moving everything this is a bit easier than mine...

(thanks to Opcode for finding that)

Parser
20th Apr 2004, 12:55 PM
Yeah, don't mind if I get technical here, do you? :)

Apparently, upon selecting the Fraghouse INV gametype from the dropdown menu in the server browser, when you select another gametype, something from FHI.u doesn't get unloaded. I have looked at every single file, and I can assure you I can find nothing that wouldn't get "stuck", so to speak. I tried moving the .int and renaming it, but I had no luck here. I did edit it a bit for the next patch (going up soon), so perhaps that will fix problems.

Sorry, but I have no idea what the problem is being caused by this time. :(

atticbat
20th Apr 2004, 01:13 PM
Yeah, don't mind if I get technical here, do you? :)

Apparently, upon selecting the Fraghouse INV gametype from the dropdown menu in the server browser, when you select another gametype, something from FHI.u doesn't get unloaded. I have looked at every single file, and I can assure you I can find nothing that wouldn't get "stuck", so to speak. I tried moving the .int and renaming it, but I had no luck here. I did edit it a bit for the next patch (going up soon), so perhaps that will fix problems.

Sorry, but I have no idea what the problem is being caused by this time. :(


no probs, got the work around working fine ;)

we are going to be trying to add some new monsters to the server as well... its all good, minor hassle and doesnt seem to be happening to everyone, just a few of us. My bet is a conflict with another mutator somewhere...

Scify
30th Apr 2004, 01:39 AM
I had same problem.I try click on other gametype like ONS.It won't reconect to server.I removed uwm.u.It work fine.But I can't download it from your server.

atticbat
30th Apr 2004, 11:10 AM
Hmm...

The problem was addressed in the last patch, I believe, it was the FHI.int. That file became obsolete after the last FHI patch.

What mut' is uwm.u?

Scify
30th Apr 2004, 11:27 PM
All i know it in system file.I try to play your server early thurs morning it said server won't download uwm.u. I look throught zip and find it.Got on server I play for few minutes.It was cool.I got off work.I try get reg server I play on.Jarg has fix it that you vote for gametype and with mod( which we play redeemer mod) or without.So It was ONS gametype and I can't get on. I saw this post. I which few day before.Which Never had prblem before.I try what Parser said . It didn't work.I remrember that I put uwm.u.I delete it. it work find.I don't know much about this.Thanks for your help.(I am very bad speller and my gamra is bad too)

atticbat
1st May 2004, 12:29 AM
hmm

I would recommend moving the file out of the directory versus deleting it.

that way at least you could move it when you need to. Not sure why it is causing conflicts for you.

I am easily able to move from server to server and gametype to gametype with the latest fraghouse invasion patch. All I had to do was remove the fhi.int and not had a problem since.

Sorry to hear about your frustrations.

Scify
1st May 2004, 01:41 AM
It not totaly not gone. I just restore it I play on yours server. I am not computer person. Friend of mine Help me get computer.So he got me on UT.Now he is so buzy with his computer job.He work on computer.He doesn't have to help me.Thank you for your help. i got update package 21 kd redo it.
It still wont do it. :rolleyes: