PDA

View Full Version : need to add VSOverride to EditPackages...


Go&nd
28th Mar 2004, 09:15 PM
Hello Parser --

First off I appreciate all your mutators released thus far for 2K4. :D

I just thought I'd mention that you might want to update your readme for the VSOverride actor. You need to add a line in the UT2004.ini [Editor.EditorEngine] section before the actor will show up in UnrealEd:

EditPackages=VSOverride

Ya, I feel silly for not having figured it out quicker (I was at a loss for why it wasn't showing up initially), and maybe somebody who can't figure this out shouldn't be messing around with it (:o), but I thought I'd point it out to ya so you can prevent other dweebs like me from feeling baffled. ;):tup:

Parser
29th Mar 2004, 03:13 PM
Hey Go&nd...

Erm, can't you just open up VSOverride.u in the actor browser and get the actor from there? :)

Go&nd
29th Mar 2004, 09:12 PM
Hey Go&nd...

Erm, can't you just open up VSOverride.u in the actor browser and get the actor from there? :)

No, it won't appear in the Actor Browser until you've added it to the EditPackages list. :) That's what I meant to point out. ;) If you just drop the .u file in the system folder and go look for it in UnrealEd, it won't appear. You need to add it to the EditPackages list in your UT2004.ini for the VSOverride actor to appear in the Actor Browser within UnrealEd.

I assume it automatically appeared there for you because you were actually creating it (thus you had to have it in EditPackages already to compile).

Now if you merely want to load a map that utilizes the actor, yeah, you just need to have it in your system folder. But to find it in the Actor Browser, you need to add it to EditPackages.

Also, how can you set it to not auto-spawn another vehicle whenever you drive the vehicle away? The vehicle factories just spawn away like mad. I tried adjusting the vehiclefactory's properties to no avail. *shrug*

I don't mean to sound like I'm complaining. I appreciate you're even making this little actor in the first place. :) And it's quite possible I'm the one making the mistakes. :tup:

Parser
30th Mar 2004, 10:50 AM
Hey, thanks for letting me know about this. :)

Yeah, I did already have it in my EditPackages line, kick me hard. :p

To stop the vehicles spawning, find the VSOverride actor and set bRespawnsVehicles to false.

If you want a more controlled method of spawning vehicles, use ASVehicleFactory to spawn any vehicle - the only variable you need to adjust is the VehicleClass one under SVehicleFactory. :)

Thanks for letting me know.

Go&nd
30th Mar 2004, 11:15 PM
No problem. :tup: I hope I didn't belabor the issue. ;) Thanks for making the actor in the first place. :tup:

And thanks for the ASVehicleFactory fix. :)