PDA

View Full Version : Lineage II models


[xF]Warlock
8th Mar 2004, 06:28 PM
Has anyone had success opening the Lineage II models or textures?

I have tried with the UnrealEditor that came with U2:XMP thinking it was the newest revision of the editor but still no avail. Im hoping the UnrealEditor that comes with UT2004 will do the trick. But, so far I crash everytime I try to open them. I get the same crash when I try to open the Ut2004 models too...

Anyone have info on this?

Thanks!

Radiosity
9th Mar 2004, 02:39 AM
The games are made by different companies and the packages aren't compatible. Also, it's illegal to use content from one game in another, so you wouldn't really want to release anything if you do that.

[xF]Warlock
9th Mar 2004, 02:08 PM
Thanks for the reply.

I was unaware that the packages built by a differing company would make them unopenable by UnrealEd. Do you have a link on working with packages? Or do you have any idea how I could get them to open? I am not going to do anything commercial with them. I just want to play with them for my own fun basically. Any info would be great.

Thanks!

Radiosity
9th Mar 2004, 03:03 PM
The best I can suggest would be to head to www.wotgreal.com and download the exporter, then see if that works with the game's packages. Currently it supports Deus Ex, all the unreal games (including Unreal2) and a few others, so chances are it'll probably work with Lineage, but I can't guarantee that. It can export static meshes, textures, code, and sounds (it won't export skeletal meshes, but will export vert-meshes such as the player models from UT).

If that doesn't work, you might be able to export meshes from the editor as OBJ files, but not all versions of Ued have OBJ export, so you'd have to check that out yourself. You can then import them OBJ meshes to Max or whatever, and export them ready for UT2K3 or whatever.

[xF]Warlock
10th Mar 2004, 10:25 AM
Thanks for the advice.

I attempted your suggestions without success but good ideas. Unfortunately wotgreal gave me an access violation with the textures and it did "try" to export the meshes but gave me 1kb .3ds files that obviously didnt work. UnrealEd crashes instantly with Lineage files so I cant attempt an OBJ export. I appreciate you trying to help me out. Thanks man!

If anyone else happens across this and knows more please let me know...

Radiosity
10th Mar 2004, 01:25 PM
One other thing you can try is place a mesh in an empty level, then export it as .t3d (I'd assume Lineage would have t3d export since it's an unreal engine native format), then open Ued3 for 2K3 and go to the mesh browser and import the .t3d direct to a new package. You'll have to navigate to the location of the t3d file and type the name of the file, since the mesh browser doesn't technically support the format - it will import a t3d without any problems though.

Harmeister
12th Mar 2004, 10:32 PM
I'm working on getting the lineage stuff to work... Unfortunately RL has been taking a lot of my time (like 120%)

Radiosity
13th Mar 2004, 01:55 AM
Props to the Harmeister :tup: Wotgreal/ Exporter rocks :D

[xF]Warlock
14th Mar 2004, 02:38 AM
Wow Harmeister! :eek:

That totally rocks. The Lineage models are simply increadible. It would be nice to be able to play with those. Looking forward to that ALOT!!!

Glad we have people like you out there...

Ill definitely buy into that! :)

B3D_Sage
21st Mar 2004, 07:10 PM
how goes the progress on this? it's something I've been trying very hard to get to work but have been quite disappointed thus far :(

Harmeister
21st Mar 2004, 08:15 PM
how goes the progress on this? it's something I've been trying very hard to get to work but have been quite disappointed thus far :(

Antonio says he has this working, or close to working, but he hasn't checked in the stuff into CVS yet. So that's the state, I guess. I don't know enough about how the packages work to do any more than wait as well.

As soon as it's checked in, know that I will get a release out hopefully the same day.

LifesBane[4C]
25th Mar 2004, 04:25 AM
Using the UT Package tool program, I was able to get the sounds to open up and play back properly, but that was it :( I was able to open up a lot of the packages (besides textures), and see all the internal groups / file names etc, but had the same problem with the exports being 100-200 byte files containing nothing.

KrisWood
27th Jul 2004, 06:41 AM
yeah I know it's a dead thread, but has anyone made any progress on this? I've still got my beta cd, would be fun to take apart the skeletal meshes heh. Just wondering...

_Lynx
9th Aug 2004, 06:19 AM
Good luck in your quest, guys!

One other thing you can try is place a mesh in an empty level, then export it as .t3d (I'd assume Lineage would have t3d export since it's an unreal engine native format),

I think Lineage doesn't have an UnrealEd supplied, and the supplied ucc.exe (if there is one supplied) is a version with many features cut off.

Galahael
1st Mar 2005, 04:24 AM
I had downloaded WOTgrealEXPORTER, and I can export pictures and retouch it with Photoshop, but I donīt know which format must I save it and how to compile them to prove it in game.

Someone can help me plz?

Galahael
7th Mar 2005, 03:04 PM
Someone reads this section?

Answer me if u know, plz ;)

bucho
14th Aug 2005, 11:01 AM
I had downloaded WOTgrealEXPORTER, and I can export pictures and retouch it with Photoshop, but I donīt know which format must I save it and how to compile them to prove it in game.

Someone can help me plz?

Tips:

1. decrypt your package texture using l2decrypt.exe
2. download DDS plugin for Photoshop (www.ndivia.com)
3. Save the image like DDS file with DXT1 compression
4. open your decrypted texture package with unrealed.exe
5. import your new modified texture, and rename to the original one
6. save the package
7. encrypt the package using l2decrypt again.

Thats all

UnrealDirektor
17th Aug 2005, 02:48 PM
ON everything sacred in this world! (Including UT2004) I can't belive you could manage to import the meshes and textures from Lineage2 to work in UT2004. I have to get into this myself!

CamelionX
9th Sep 2005, 05:56 PM
Hello guys i am looking how i can get the models out of L2 but when i use exporter it says UT2003 Models are unknown

tyuwan
22nd Dec 2005, 05:58 PM
Still no one know how to export the mesh from L2?

Mongoose
23rd Apr 2006, 05:58 AM
I got lineageII models exporting a while back. I didn't finish up the full system, but I'd be happy to share what I know so far. The lineageII format wasn't that hard to reverse engineer to this point actually.

Project:

http://icculus.org/freyja

Screenshots:

http://offload1.icculus.org/freyja/images/screenshots/lineageII-forc.png
http://offload1.icculus.org/freyja/images/screenshots/lineageII-foo.png
http://offload1.icculus.org/freyja/images/screenshots/lineageII-support2.png


Edit:

By request I've uploaded win32 binaries, and here's details on how it works as well:
http://www.chatbear.com/?P980107

KrisWood
25th Apr 2006, 07:52 AM
Muahahahahaaaaa!

http://www2.slothworks.com/kw/femaledarkelf/fde11wireoverlay.jpg

Thanks Mongoose, I've wanted to be able to do this for a few years now! :D

tyuwan
25th Apr 2006, 11:55 PM
wish you could reply this sooner but man thanks you so much. =) ive been looking for this for years

C3G
13th May 2009, 11:10 PM
finally!! did some snoop scooping and found this by near accident. it may be two years late, but thanks mongoose!