PDA

View Full Version : ADSL and UT


Silent0ne
23rd Feb 2000, 12:00 AM
Ok, i recently got adsl (384k) and have about 80 ping in quake 3. In unreal i have about 150-200 ping. Yes I realize that these are two different types of network code. However, i've noticed that when you switch your options from modem to dsl/cable/lan, NONE of the settings in the network preferences are actually changed. How can this be? Does anyone know of a page or a faq regarding tweaking UT for a DSL connection?

thx

Rooster
23rd Feb 2000, 01:02 AM
I have RADSL (pretty much like ADSL) and I can get 50-60ms pings on servers in my city (Twin Cities). After that I get 80-100 for about 30-40 servers. Plenty of choices for me.

Actually changing between modem/isdn/dsl+cable changes your NETSPEED setting. 2600 is for Modem, 5000 is for ISDN, 20000 is for cable/dsl. I have mine at 10000 cause my wife plays sometimes too and we share the connection.



http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
"Every damn time I walk through that door, it's the same damn thing
That bitch bends over, and I forget my name."
nguid:453406 (http://ut.ngworldstats.com/fcgi-bin/Display?gt=UT&gm=all&page=m&view=p&uid=453406)

Silent0ne
23rd Feb 2000, 03:44 AM
Hmmm ok. I set my netspeed to 25000, have tried 20000 and 22000 as well. I take it none of the other settings should change such as server tic rate, etc. Ahh well, it still runs much better than my old 56k /~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif

Rooster
23rd Feb 2000, 03:47 AM
Don't it higher than 20k unless you're on a 100baseT LAN. You'll hurt your gameplay.

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
"I never learned from a man who agreed with me." ~ Robert A. Heinlein
nguid:453406 (http://ut.ngworldstats.com/fcgi-bin/Display?gt=UT&gm=all&page=m&view=p&uid=453406)

Rooster
23rd Feb 2000, 12:21 PM
*boink*

Only because it was his first post and may not look deep enough to find it.

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
"Every damn time I walk through that door, it's the same damn thing
That bitch bends over, and I forget my name."
nguid:453406 (http://ut.ngworldstats.com/fcgi-bin/Display?gt=UT&gm=all&page=m&view=p&uid=453406)

NutBar-SOB
23rd Feb 2000, 12:46 PM
... and he's reeeeeal quiet.

CHRYSt
23rd Feb 2000, 01:16 PM
He's hiding. It's scary when a demi god answers you. /~unreal/ubb/html/wink.gif

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
"Where's the BACTINE?! Some of this blood is MINE!!" -- JTHM

Bendit
23rd Feb 2000, 01:43 PM
Rooster, how do you share the connection? Using a proxy server I assume? What product are you using? Is UT running ok with a proxy? Any problems?

Rooster
23rd Feb 2000, 02:11 PM
No proxy. The DSL router is attached to the hub. We're both attached to the hub. That way if I lock up (happens every now and then) she's not dead in the water waiting for me to reboot.

We have static IP's (I've got 5 total to use *thpthtpthpth* at Cable...) so we don't have any NAT issues (couldn't get AOK on the Zone to work until I got static IP's).

If you do go with a proxy type setup, get Sygate. Best, easiest, kick-butt software you can get to share a connection. Just need to separate hardware pieces to run it. i.e., a modem & a nic, or 2 nic's in the case of cable/DSL that doesn't allow 2 computers on it, if such a thing exists.

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
"Every damn time I walk through that door, it's the same damn thing
That bitch bends over, and I forget my name."
nguid:453406 (http://ut.ngworldstats.com/fcgi-bin/Display?gt=UT&gm=all&page=m&view=p&uid=453406)

Bendit
23rd Feb 2000, 02:13 PM
ok, so you have multiple IP addresses, that explains everything...

(that's why you don't need a proxy)

Morgan
23rd Feb 2000, 02:34 PM
I'll be getting ADSL within a year /~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif

I can hardly wait! /~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
Yeah lady, You and the IRS...