PDA

View Full Version : Cube size?


Skillz
29th Feb 2004, 12:17 AM
I am some what new to mapping, and I made a few rooms but I wanted to find out the dimensions of the cubes, so I can keep the size the same and what not.

I know there is a way, I remember reading it a while back; but unfortunate for me, I am unable to find it again.

Please help,
Thanks
Skillz

tdwkillgasm
29th Feb 2004, 01:43 PM
You mean u wanna find out how big they are? the way i do it is just to work it out by counting the number of cubes in there, might be easier using a larger grid size to make it a bit simpler. Dunno if theres any easier way, hmmmm :O

Skillz
1st Mar 2004, 08:48 PM
No, that would take too long.

There has to be a way to look at the properties somewhere that will tell you the dimensions. I just do not remember where. I do remember reading it like last week sometimes, but I'd be damned if I can't find that post/site again! I thought it was posted here somewhere, but that's like finding a needle in a hay stack! (Haha, old saying...)

Bot_40
1st Mar 2004, 11:03 PM
Well in case you don't already know this, you should always use brush sizes of multiples of powers of 2. (eg. 64, 256, 384, 768 etc.) This will make brushes line up nicely with large grid sizes like 32 and 64 and you are infinitely less likely to get errors later on in your map when you start adding more detail.
And of course, if you do this, then it tends to be really easy to tell how big a brush is, because most corridors tend to be 256 units high and so on (notice how easilly a brush that size lines up with grid lines).
If you want to create a brush that is a similar size then you can just estimate roughly how big it should be. So for example, you could make the red brush 64 units long, but if it turns out you actually want it 32 units longer to align with some other piece of geometry, then you can easilly vertex edit it to be a bit longer (96 units).
This just generally makes your map much much easier to construct and these scales are tried and tested in the UT engine (for 5-6 years!).

After a bit of experience you can just glance at a piece of geometry and tell the dimensions just by looking at it. I could tell if a corridor was 256 units high or 192 units high with my eyes closed!

Ticalion
4th Mar 2004, 11:22 AM
If you highlight the brush, then go to properties, I think its under Scale, it tells you the maximum dimensions for that brush :)

Skillz
4th Mar 2004, 05:46 PM
I went to properties, but did not see scale in it anywhere. Is it under a sub menu?

CyberSirius
4th Mar 2004, 08:34 PM
:rolleyes:

64 uu is equal to 1 meter :D