Chaingun - question

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

ROFL 451

Twisted Mind
Dec 25, 2003
Darkness
I am modelling a chaingun at the moment. But, I'm not good at modelling hands and the model I am using (GI Joe Chaingun, comes with the big helicopter) has a grip on the top, like in this screenshot (not modelling this one, best pic I could find)

SS%20demo%20shot0006.JPG

So, what should I do? Just make it so its resting in the "down" position, leaning on the barrels (would mean I don't have to model hands) or the "up" position (have to model a hand holding it. Thanks for the help

ROFL 451

Twisted Mind
Dec 25, 2003
Darkness
AUGH! I just created the Ammo container, cut out sections using a Boolean, and positioned it almost perfectly. Exept for one part. I can't move it up or down! I can move it left and right with the "moving" tool, but I can't move it up into the desired position! Heeeelllppppp!

Edit: Whew! After rebooting 3ds Studio Max 6, it all worked fine. :flak:

Last edited:

Postal

I apear to have lost my pin.
Nov 14, 1999
WoD.BeyondUnreal.com
Try with out the hand, Personaly I like the look of the old 1890's gattlings. A chaingun is a gun whos action is driven with a chain. Thanks to good old Wolf3d did the term Chaingun get mistaken for Gattling Gun or Vulcan Cannon.

ROFL 451

Twisted Mind
Dec 25, 2003
Darkness
Postal said:
Id say have it up with no hand.

Here is my progress so far (I have spent a few days on this baby):

Attachments

• Chaingun.JPG
    Chaingun.JPG
    132.6 KB · Views: 22
  • ChaingunStart.JPG
    ChaingunStart.JPG
    128.1 KB · Views: 16

ROFL 451

Twisted Mind