PDA

View Full Version : Chaingun - question

ROFL 451
19th Jan 2004, 12:43 PM
I am modelling a chaingun at the moment. But, I'm not good at modelling hands and the model I am using (GI Joe Chaingun, comes with the big helicopter) has a grip on the top, like in this screenshot (not modelling this one, best pic I could find)

http://www.fragtopia.com/newsite/SS%20demo%20shot0006.JPG

So, what should I do? Just make it so its resting in the "down" position, leaning on the barrels (would mean I don't have to model hands) or the "up" position (have to model a hand holding it. Thanks for the help

ROFL 451
19th Jan 2004, 01:41 PM
AUGH! I just created the Ammo container, cut out sections using a Boolean, and positioned it almost perfectly. Exept for one part. I can't move it up or down! I can move it left and right with the "moving" tool, but I can't move it up into the desired position! Heeeelllppppp!

Edit: Whew! After rebooting 3ds Studio Max 6, it all worked fine. :flak:

EvilDrWong
19th Jan 2004, 01:58 PM
make it without hands first. if it looks too screwed up then you can try adding them later.

Smoke39
19th Jan 2004, 02:31 PM
Can't you take the hand from UT1?

Postal
19th Jan 2004, 04:30 PM
Try with out the hand, Personaly I like the look of the old 1890's gattlings. A chaingun is a gun whos action is driven with a chain. Thanks to good old Wolf3d did the term Chaingun get mistaken for Gattling Gun or Vulcan Cannon.

ROFL 451
19th Jan 2004, 04:55 PM
Can't you take the hand from UT1?

I don't have UT1 :p Thanks for the help people!

Postal
19th Jan 2004, 05:45 PM
Id say have it up with no hand.

ROFL 451
20th Jan 2004, 01:36 PM
Id say have it up with no hand.

Here is my progress so far (I have spent a few days on this baby):

EvilDrWong
20th Jan 2004, 01:58 PM
nice :D though for a first person view you should probably remove the 'insides' of the tubes making the barrels

Postal
20th Jan 2004, 01:59 PM
Spiffy

ROFL 451
20th Jan 2004, 02:04 PM
Update on chaingun: