PDA

View Full Version : MMOG: Lineage 2


Kaldais
16th Dec 2003, 03:26 PM
Hello,
I saw in Unreal Powered page a game called Lineage 2. But Lineage 2 isn't a MMORPG? How they created it with no load times?
I can create a MMOG with the runtime?

[SAS]Solid Snake
16th Dec 2003, 06:03 PM
I can create a MMOG with the runtime?
No, read the EULA. No games are allowed to be distributed.

But Lineage 2 isn't a MMORPG? How they created it with no load times?It is a MMORPG, but it works a little differently to others. They have access to native code, while we are restricted to Unrealscript (at the moment). Because they can modify the engine directly to their needs they can do things such as precaching data as they user is playing or precaching predictions (we can precache all the data but that results in very long start up times).

Kaldais
16th Dec 2003, 11:36 PM
Thanks.
Mhh, is it possible to do a "Postal 2" like load time with only the RunTime?

Gawes
17th Dec 2003, 07:50 AM
What's special on Postal 2?
On my 1,33 GHz the loading time is enormous.

Kaldais
17th Dec 2003, 09:06 AM
What's special on Postal 2?
A large unique map, with a large visual.

Gawes
17th Dec 2003, 05:34 PM
Then you got another Version than I did.
I haven't checked it in the Editor, but it looked pretty much like many small maps. If it truly is one big map, the caching and the transissions are done badly.

[SAS]Solid Snake
19th Dec 2003, 04:06 PM
Postal 2 had serious problems with level transition. Well the version I played anyways, it was using the hub system and even that was badly done.

What is so hard about making a large map with a large visual? It may however run slow on lower-end machines.