PDA

View Full Version : Can I change default "Box Character"???


TheArtfulDodger
11th Dec 2003, 12:20 PM
I'd like to make some generic people for the Runtime Engine.

Is it legal?

Would interacting on the net constitute a game?

How do I change the default player "Box Character" to my own mesh?

[SAS]Solid Snake
13th Dec 2003, 08:53 PM
Is it legal? Would interacting on the net constitute a game?Ask the liscensing department at Epic for that.

How do I change the default player "Box Character" to my own mesh?Change the default player which I think it RTPawn to use your mesh.

cyberdigitus
30th Dec 2003, 10:35 PM
why wouldn't that be legal? in fact, if you look around on the udn site, you can find a runtime version of the udn charactres, wich have pretty detailed skeletons. It seems they're really updating the site often lately.

hottoast
4th Jan 2004, 05:48 PM
why wouldn't that be legal? in fact, if you look around on the udn site, you can find a runtime version of the udn charactres, wich have pretty detailed skeletons. It seems they're really updating the site often lately.

The runtime versions of the UDN characters were done by the Unreal Developers Network, so that if you wanted people running around instead of a box, you could have that (without having to make them yourself).

I believe that you can replace the UDN models with your own without any legal repercussions.

- Tom

patrickrho
6th Jan 2004, 12:47 PM
where can i find the runtime version of the example characters?
Can you post an address?
and how can i export models that i made with max and/or maya to the Runtime? is it possible to use ActorX?

hottoast
6th Jan 2004, 06:50 PM
where can i find the runtime version of the example characters?
Can you post an address?
and how can i export models that i made with max and/or maya to the Runtime? is it possible to use ActorX?

Ok, the first part of your question can be found here:

http://udn.epicgames.com/Technical/MyFirstPawn#Installing_the_Example

It's a little technical, so be sure to follow the instructions exactly.

To export your own characters and models to the Runtime build, you can use ActorX with either Max or Maya. If you are just getting started, take a look at this page:

http://udn.epicgames.com/Content/ModelingTableOfContents

There is a link in that document that links to ActorX pages for Max and Maya, since the process is slightly different for each of those programs.

-Tom

afecelis
16th Jan 2004, 02:02 PM
I got the boy character to work ok but now the game is defaulted to third person view. I know hitting "b" is the default to switch person views but how can I default it back to first person (without loosing the boy character).?

hottoast
16th Jan 2004, 02:31 PM
I got the boy character to work ok but now the game is defaulted to third person view. I know hitting "b" is the default to switch person views but how can I default it back to first person (without loosing the boy character).?

To make this change, you'll need to look at the source code and make a change, then recompile. My programmers tell me that this is a trivial change (if you're a coder). Take a look at this page for a complete description:

http://udn.epicgames.com/Technical/MyFirstPawn#PointOfView

Good luck!

Tom

afecelis
16th Jan 2004, 06:30 PM
thank hottoast!

When you say "compile" you mean you gotta have the source to the engine or you mean just in terms of unreal script?

thanx for the help

hottoast
16th Jan 2004, 06:42 PM
When you say "compile" you mean you gotta have the source to the engine or you mean just in terms of unreal script?

You just need the script.

tom

afecelis
16th Jan 2004, 10:14 PM
Which file and which line shall I modify before compiling?

afecelis
18th Jan 2004, 12:04 AM
Ok, I read the article carefully and got what you meant. But even changing "bStartBehindView" to false in examplepawn.uc and compiling won't make it start in first person. What else needs to be done?

hottoast
19th Jan 2004, 12:41 PM
Ok, I read the article carefully and got what you meant. But even changing "bStartBehindView" to false in examplepawn.uc and compiling won't make it start in first person. What else needs to be done?

Odd, that should be all you need to do. Are you sure you're compiling correctly and using the recompiled files?

Tom

afecelis
19th Jan 2004, 02:26 PM
well, I'm doing the regular "ucc make" compiling and I get all the files compiled in release mode ok. Success, 0 errors, 0 warnings.
The newly compiled files are stored somewhere else besides "system"?