PDA

View Full Version : Dynamic Lightning


Dodo
27th Oct 2003, 07:43 AM
I was trying to do some "Dynamic" Lightning with the triggerable Light, but this looks just awfull. It is possible to switch the Light on and off, but there are NO shadows and the light illuminates also areas which are behind a corner :eek: .
The idea I wanted to build was some kind of Day/Night change for a kind of RPG, so the question is: Is this possible with UE2? And where are the triggerable Lights with shadows ( I think in Unreal 1 it worked quite well).
Thanks for reply.

Dodo
27th Oct 2003, 08:48 AM
Well, I started searching the doc's and there i found:
"Dynamic lights will never create shadows"
to bad...
So I think, the Day/Light change will not work. If anyone got an idea how to implement this feature please post it here.

Daid303
27th Oct 2003, 09:01 AM
How about changing the brighness?

Brightness = SetBrightness +- TimeOfDay.

djpaul
27th Oct 2003, 09:07 AM
You'll have to set Light.bStatic = false to be able to change it's brightness after spawning it, though.

etihomephone
27th Oct 2003, 11:59 AM
Dynamic lights never had real time shadow, and UT2003 also support them :rolleyes:

inio
27th Oct 2003, 08:57 PM
I was trying to do some "Dynamic" Lightning

It's LIGHTING. Hear that? light-ing. No extra n.

Lets get this straight. Lighting:
http://www.saigonmusica.com/images/lighting.jpg

Lightning:
http://www.nmt.edu/mainpage/news/2002/image/lightning.jpg

Any questions?

Wormbo
28th Oct 2003, 05:27 AM
It's LIGHTING. Hear that? light-ing. No extra n.

Lets get this straight. Lighting:
http://www.saigonmusica.com/images/lighting.jpg

Lightning:
http://www.nmt.edu/mainpage/news/2002/image/lightning.jpg

Any questions?
Well, you can do both in the Unreal Engine. ;)

Dodo
9th Nov 2003, 04:13 PM
I tried to change the lightning in a class, which extends light, with this:

function postbeginplay(){
log(self.LightBrightness);
while( self.LightBrightness > 0){
self.LightBrightness -= 0.1;
}
log(self.LightBrightness);
}

and i assume that Light.bStatic is equal to Light.bStaticLighting.

But this wont work, the variable is changed accuratly (->Log) but this does not effect the light in game.
So, do I have to use other code or is this hole thing not possible?

btw.: How do you do that LightNing stuff??

Wormbo
9th Nov 2003, 04:41 PM
btw.: How do you do that LightNing stuff??
You use an Emitter (http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/Emitter) actor with one or more BeamEmitters (http://udn.epicgames.com/pub/Content/BeamEmitter/). Also see UDN Emitters (Examples) (http://udn.epicgames.com/pub/Content/EmittersExamples/).