PDA

View Full Version : Installing a new Mobo and RAM, should I reformat?


Traxis
17th Sep 2003, 11:34 PM
I just bought a new mobo, (Gigabyte SINXP1394 if you were wondering) and I wanted to know if XP would have any problems recognizing my hardware if I didn't do a fresh install and just replaced my old mobo.

Swedix
18th Sep 2003, 05:39 AM
If you have a different chipset on your new mobo, there might be some problem.
XP will probably start, it will find the new hardware and trying to install the drivers.
This might work but to be sure you get 100% of your new hardware, I suggest you make a new install of Windows.

Hunter
18th Sep 2003, 05:48 AM
should be ok, heard people changing hardware over etc in XP, if it doesnt work you can always do a fresh install

0bside0
18th Sep 2003, 12:23 PM
It will probably work though you will wind up with duplicate entries for your chipset fuctions (system devices, etc.) most likey and will have many registry entries that are unecessary/redundant and problematic.
In the long run your system will be unstable and chances are you'll wind up reinstalling anyhow.

Replacing a video card, or memory, or drive is not a big deal, but ANY time I replace a mobo/proc I plan on a clean install.
Besides with a new mobo combo you'll want a fresh install so you can really feel the improvement from your old.