Dual booting Win2k and XP

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Thrash123

Obey Leash Laws
Jul 19, 1999
Nowhere to be found.
www.classicwfl.com
Ok, my mother wants her XP machine to dual-boot 2k (she does software tech support and she needs to be able to test stuff on 2k and XP both). It has XP preinstalled, and we can't re-install it. What I was planning on doing was this:

1) Unplug XP HD
2) Plug in new HD for 2k
3) Install 2k
4) Partition the 2k HD for the XOSL bootloader
5) Hook up the XP HD
6) Install XOSL

Would this work? I have never done a multi-windows OS-boot before (I have done multiple Linuxes and one Windows, multiple BSDs and Windows, and a bunch of obscure OSes). Is there any easier way to do this? Would there be any issues with this type of setup?

Hadmar

Queen Bitch of the Universe
Jan 29, 2001
Nerdpole
It should work. I once used NT / 98SE like that but I fear I can't help you with details as 'once' is like 2 or 3 years ago.

Blorgg

Feb 7, 2000
The Netherlands
www.nachos.tk
You can do it a lot easier then that. Just plug in the new HD(or resize and create a partition on the first HD). Then just install W2K on the second HD(or on the new partition) and W2K will install a boot loader itself so you can choose to boot XP or W2K. There is no need to install some 3rd party boot loader for this at all.

Thrash123

Obey Leash Laws
Jul 19, 1999
Nowhere to be found.
www.classicwfl.com