PDA

View Full Version : Making bots come out water


TheRealFluffy
26th Feb 2002, 01:38 PM
They wont do this, but I know it is something with LiftExits and stuff.. like an elevater, Now I don't know anymore how to do this with water, as there is no Lift to "LiftTag" To...

Astyanax
26th Feb 2002, 02:44 PM
What's wrong with using PathNodes?

Bot_40
26th Feb 2002, 05:12 PM
Pathnodes won't work.
Place a lift exit in the water, under the surface where you want the bots to start to get out of the water. Then place a lift center followed by a lift exit on the ground by the water. Give them all identical LiftTags. It doesn't matter that there is no lift, in this case it's just to link the exits and centers all up together.
If you are still having difficulty getting them in the water, select the lift exit, and under navigationpoint, set exxtra cost to 0.

cdeaconu
26th Feb 2002, 09:18 PM
if ur really desperate, u can use kickers...

that'll get 'em out with style.

but the lifttag method is the best.

Astyanax
27th Feb 2002, 04:23 AM
Strange... I've never used liftexits for water... just pathnodes. And it has always worked fine!

:eek2:

Bot_40
27th Feb 2002, 03:33 PM
lol, pathnodes may work when the water meets the ground and the ground is sloped, like on a beach, but I've never been able to get the bots to 'climb' out of the water using just pathnodes.

Firefly
1st Mar 2002, 06:49 AM
place a partnode just above the water's surface, one below in the water and one on the edge of the bank. so they form a right angle. this is the first i've heard of using liftexits like this.

WheatPuppet
4th Mar 2002, 09:23 AM
gotoState('wierd');

state wierd
{
begin:
Why why are we forcing the bots to come out of the water? Can't you see that all they want to do is swim? Why do you inflict your will upon the poor AI like that?
Swim bots! Be free! Stand up to the scripting tyrants!
gotoState('normal');
...
}

Call me Erdrik
5th Mar 2002, 10:34 AM
Originally posted by WheatPuppet
gotoState('wierd');

state wierd
{
begin:
Why why are we forcing the bots to come out of the water? Can't you see that all they want to do is swim? Why do you inflict your will upon the poor AI like that?
Swim bots! Be free! Stand up to the scripting tyrants!
gotoState('normal');
...
}

LOL! ahhh... the dream of an ever expansive, learning, and free AI....
will it ever come? *sniff*

lol

Wiz
5th Mar 2002, 08:10 PM
I usally make a layer of paths in the water where i want the bots to swim, make some paths on the water (just click on the surface and add a path) then add one on the bank or ledge ect and i've never had a problem with that

Cobra's
3rd Sep 2003, 01:56 PM
Yes you use pathnode, and it is very easy to do. the solution in that is where do you put your pathnode in the water. if it is done well, they will be perfect. And they will swim like fish.