PDA

View Full Version : when creating new maps...

Twisted Metal
25th Jan 2002, 08:10 PM
I'm not really experienced with this editor much, i built 2 maps, 1 large CTF(2fort copy), and 1 DM small cylinder room with walkways over some water below. Anyway I never really finished these maps because I felt the need to keep adding and adding to them. Too late to finish them now though, those maps are long gone, destroyed by my friend named reformat.

I would really like to make a good map, I can easily think of good, complex ideas in my head but I am extremely limited once I start to physically build something in the editor. I start with a cube where I just guess a random size and then i'm stuck with that cube. A bland, boring, open cube. How the hell do I work with this? Where do I start? Ahhh. I'm clueless when it comes to actually building the map. They never turn out the way I want them, things are the wrong size, in the wrong positions, and the whole map ends up turning into something totally different than I pictured. It really makes me frusterated. I see all these great maps in all these games, large outdoor areas with mountains, deformed terrain, clever construction, and all the rooms/passageways seem to meet up perfect. Too bad my knowledge ends with the empty cube. How am I supossed to turn my flat boring cube into a 3D world filled with detail? It's so hard I don't know how you guys manage it. I wish I had a video of someone actually building a map from scratch, so I could see how they do it.

How do you guys start your maps? With a cube? Then what? I would really like to learn to actually build something nice for a change. =/

[Bean]
25th Jan 2002, 08:21 PM
think....think...think some more...

sketch,sketch, erase, think.... sketch

map, map, sketch, think... sketch... map
map map

:D

Techno JF
26th Jan 2002, 02:01 AM
Ummmm...that's actually about right. At least that's what I think everybody else does.

tarquin
26th Jan 2002, 08:42 AM