PDA

View Full Version : what the hell?


bobtheking
20th Jan 2002, 08:05 PM
my level, it dosen't open in the editor, if i load it it dosen't show anything in any view. If i open it in the game, it says can't find package for file 'Package custom.Gold' my level dosen't even use this texture, and all of my backups say the same thing. what the f__k is going on? if i can't load it ever, i am going to be pissed. i worked on it for soooo long, and all the backups too! even the texture exists, but it can't find it anyway. how the hell do i fix it?

SpazTheProphet
20th Jan 2002, 10:52 PM
well, if your problem is that all you see is white when you open uED. just do the 436 patch again, that fixes it everytime for me.

if its that your map loads, but seems to be just dissapeared, im not sure. the only time that ever happend was when i incorrectly added my screenshot for the level. I didn't drop it to 256x256 and added it so it bugged up and just seemed to break or whatever the term is. If you did that your screwed, i never found a remedy for it and ended up completely redoing the map. that map was CTF-FME, if your that curious you can find it on NaliCity. I was lucky enough that its a small Thornsv2 and andACTION style map so it didnt take long to redo.

Djazaus
20th Jan 2002, 11:22 PM
Regarding the white viewport thing, Spaz, just go to viewports>configure to cure that instead of reinstalling the patch everytime.

Bob: I had the same prob with an old map.. I used some custom textures and somehow managed to lose them (dunno how), this resulted in the same problem you're having. Did you ever use that package in this level?

Seco_In_The_Bushes
21st Jan 2002, 01:44 AM
Heres something worth knowing when it comes to textures:

suppose you use a texture in your level, and you latter decide you dont want it, but your stuck with needing that pack anyway, right? wrong! type "texture cull" (no quotes duh) in the ued console, and it will give you a list of every texture used in your level, and also will remove from your level all unused textures, so you dont need the packs anymore. Very helpful!

bobtheking
21st Jan 2002, 02:43 AM
Did you ever use that package in this level?

no, i don't think so. i used the package that had the texture, one of my friends is a photoshop god, and he has made a buttload of textures, and he makes new versions of his custom.utx file all the time. we just got network cards, and he transferred the new version to my computer. he had organized the textures into catagories, so the engine couldn't find the texture. i made a solid blue texture to fix it, and did a replace textures to get rid of it. Seco, i did that but i had to save it in order to reload to get it to show the level, and i really didn't want to save it, in the hopes of recovering it.

Hourences
21st Jan 2002, 02:48 AM
make a new texture file with the same name and stuf, then start the map, should work normally, never really tried it thought, but worth a shot :)

bobtheking
21st Jan 2002, 03:12 AM
i guess in my last post i forgot to say i fixed it, i made a group with the name it was looking for with a texture with the same name, and it worked.

AMmayhem
21st Jan 2002, 10:35 AM
Another thing to be mindful of: If you build a box or something on the floor (or wall, etc.), but you decide to change the texture, the original texture you used will still be on the bottom if you lift it up off the floor (or away from ceiling, wall, etc.) and look.

And this is my 666th post!

Laff
21st Jan 2002, 11:42 AM
try loading autoplay.unr, that is if you haven't loaded any other maps ;)

it's a copy of the last map that was run from the editor.

Call me Erdrik
21st Jan 2002, 01:49 PM
When the map doesn't load you can click the text window button to the right of the consule line and it will bring up a window displaying a log of all the commands, attemped commands, and any errors.. very helpfull in finding out exactly what went wrong..

bobtheking
21st Jan 2002, 02:56 PM
i knew what the error was, i just couldn't fix it, and unfortunatley when my friend came over other than the new version of custom.utx, but a map, and i played that from the editor, eraseing autoplay

Call me Erdrik
21st Jan 2002, 04:06 PM
Originally posted by bobtheking
i knew what the error was, i just couldn't fix it, and unfortunatley when my friend came over other than the new version of custom.utx, but a map, and i played that from the editor, eraseing autoplay

I just ment for future reference. instead of opening it ingame to see:

If i open it in the game, it says can't find package for file 'Package custom.Gold'

LXIXGTO
21st Jan 2002, 09:43 PM
Originally posted by Seco_In_The_Bushes
Heres something worth knowing when it comes to textures:

suppose you use a texture in your level, and you latter decide you dont want it, but your stuck with needing that pack anyway, right? wrong! type "texture cull" (no quotes duh) in the ued console, and it will give you a list of every texture used in your level, and also will remove from your level all unused textures, so you dont need the packs anymore. Very helpful!
.
.
Yes, ... VERY helpful.
.
I had that same trouble... (used a texture and since deleted it
but the Editor was still looking for it :( )
.
That was the fix... Thanx Seco!

:biorifle:




:cool:

bobtheking
23rd Jan 2002, 12:34 AM
does the editor do this at startup? because only the textures i use are showing in each pack, but when i type texture cull, it dosen't do anything.