PDA

View Full Version : laggy low poly zoned level


bobtheking
16th Jan 2002, 11:02 PM
i have a level, the average polycount is 150, the average node count is 400, and i have zoned the level. why does it run at 15 fps, while my other levels (higher poly, unzoned), run at 30-45?

LXIXGTO
16th Jan 2002, 11:27 PM
The only thing I can think of right off hand is ...
Do you have any dynamic lights with overlapping radii? (radiuses)
.
That could make the engine chug a bit.

:biorifle:




:cool:

Chrysaor
17th Jan 2002, 12:23 AM
Tha'ts the first thing that came to mind too me as well. Use any semisolids? and is the 150 ingame or in ed?

Hourences
17th Jan 2002, 07:04 AM
how big are the zoneportals ?

@kuma
17th Jan 2002, 08:21 AM
the average node count is 400

Laff
17th Jan 2002, 11:33 AM
yep, nodecount is the issue ;)

bobtheking
17th Jan 2002, 06:22 PM
4 semisolids, 150 ingame, the max is about 220. i got one view with 40 polys, and it was running at 18 fps. all but 6 of the zone portals is 256x256. the others are slime, and one is a flooded room. i have one dynamic light, it is a busted light fixture that flickers. what about ambient sounds, i have quite a few of those.

Hourences
17th Jan 2002, 07:39 PM
hmm weird

not the ambient sounds, perfectly possible, unless you have a trillion of them

LXIXGTO
17th Jan 2002, 07:52 PM
I didn't know that (or if ) too many sounds would
affect frame rate in the game.
.
Maybe you could use the radii viewto see
how many of those sounds overlap eachother?
Just a thought. :)

:biorifle:




:cool:

bobtheking
18th Jan 2002, 12:14 AM
i think i figured out what it was, i have a lot of railings, and they have a chain link fence type thing between them and the floor. it was a grate texture, scaled down .0625 or whatever. apparently it also scales the light maps, so i did high shadow + low shadow, and scaled it by .125. it seems to have cured the problem

RedEye(Co30)
18th Jan 2002, 11:12 AM
AFAIK, if you can see through multiple layers of masked textures that will kill the framerate as well.

AMmayhem
18th Jan 2002, 11:37 AM
So a higher node count will slow the map down too? I didn't know that. Or did I misread something?

Bot_40
18th Jan 2002, 12:53 PM
Nodes slow the map down more than polys. It would actually be more sensible to use nodes as a measure of how fast maps are likely to run.

bobtheking
18th Jan 2002, 05:11 PM
AFAIK, if you can see through multiple layers of masked textures that will kill the framerate as well.
i think i found the problem.

Seco_In_The_Bushes
18th Jan 2002, 05:19 PM
Hm:


all but 6 of the zone portals is 256x256


Just how many zone portals do you have? Dont get so worked up about the benefits of zone portals that you over-zone your level. . .

How do you get quotes to display the original poster?

bobtheking
18th Jan 2002, 09:10 PM
i have 22 zones (i think, but quite a few are slime. i have one in each pipe connecting the rooms.

bobtheking
19th Jan 2002, 04:11 AM
Originally posted by Seco_In_The_Bushes
Hm:
How do you get quotes to display the original poster?

click the quote button under their post, far right bottom.

i have increased the fps a lot by deleting the chain link fences to around 40. (i have a crappy computer, you 5 ghz with geforce3s don't fret) now i have another problem, it lags when i put bots in, doesn't seem to happen in my other levels.

Balton
19th Jan 2002, 09:31 AM
the only thing I can suggest you is naming that map different. there have been several maps called sewer... jsut to avoid stress

bobtheking
19th Jan 2002, 12:58 PM
i know, it is just a temporary name so i can save it.

GoldenMouse
20th Jan 2002, 08:44 PM
I've started using DM/CTF/DOM-Working for my maps. So far, no CTF-workings just yet. Anyway, that map is looking nice from the vantage provided. Could ya drop me a line when it's done?

bobtheking
21st Jan 2002, 01:46 AM
Could ya drop me a line when it's done?
and how would i do that, i am relativley new to these forums.

bobtheking
21st Jan 2002, 01:49 AM
i forgot to say, it is sooo close to being done, all i have to do is iron out the botpathing, see my other thread, 'stupid bots!', for details.